PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Can I get a Florida real estate license if I'm not a Florida resident?

Can I get a Florida real estate license if I'm not a Florida resident?

Yes. One can get a real estate license in Florida without being a Florida resident through mutual recognition or by qualifying as a nonresident. According to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), the State of Florida currently has eight existing mutual recognition agreements with other states. Those states are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Rhode Island

All nonresident applicants and licensees must meet the Florida requirements for licensure. Note that FREC has the authority to add states with whom it approves a reciprocity agreement. Florida Statute 475.180.


Related Questions

Does Florida have any license accommodations for military members?

According to Florida House Bill 7015 (effective July 1, 2014), the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) can waive initial licensing fees.

Do I need to provide a Social Security number to apply for a license?

Yes. A Social Security number is a must when applying for a real estate license in Florida. In the application's Legal Name section, applicants must enter their name exactly as it appears on their Social Security card.

Can I get a Florida real estate license if I'm not a Florida resident?

Yes. One can get a real estate license in Florida without being a Florida resident through mutual recognition or by qualifying as a nonresident. According to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), the State of Florida currently has eight existing mutual recognition agreements with other states.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my Florida real estate license?

Yes. According to Florida Statute 475.17 (1)(a), an applicant for licensure must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

What is the age requirement to apply for a Florida real estate license

According to Florida Statute 475.17 (1)(a), an applicant for licensure must be at least 18 years of age.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE