PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Can I get my TN license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

Can I get my TN license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

If you are on parole or probation, the Tennessee Real Estate Commission does not allow you to be scheduled for the state licensing exam until two years have passed from the date of expiration of probation, conviction, or release from incarceration, whichever is latest. This restriction applies to all felonies as well as to misdemeanors which involve the theft of money, services, or property.

However, if you possess a certificate of employability pursuant to Tennessee Code, you may not be denied the issuance of a license based solely on your past record of criminal activity. Instead, you may be required to appear before the Commission for consideration of whether to grant or deny the issuance of the license.

If you have been convicted, pled no contest or found guilty of any criminal offense within the past 10 years, other than a traffic violation, this should be disclosed to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. This includes a DUI and reckless driving.

According to the Rules of the Tennessee Real Estate Commission, you will need to submit a copy of your conviction record as well as an affidavit providing details of each charge and the disciplinary action taken by the local, state or federal agency, as well as the factual and legal basis for each action, as applicable.

If your background check does not reveal the current status or outcome of an arrest or charge related to a felony or a misdemeanor involving theft of services, money or property, and that charge was dismissed, not pursued or other disposed of, will need to submit a letter or other documentation from the court’s clerk as to the status of the charges.

A conviction may impact your ability to become licensed in Tennessee. You may be asked to appear before the Commission so a determination can be made of whether the conviction, arrest or disciplinary sanction constitutes grounds for denial of a license, and whether the applicant may move forward with the licensing process. You should ensure your principal broker is present.

An applicant who appears before the Commission requesting licensure, and who is denied, will not be eligible for reconsideration for six months from the date of denial.


Related Questions

Is there a way to speed up the time it takes to get my TN license?

For the quickest service, you should make your application online at the Commission’s website, CORE. Applying via other means, such as email, fax, or postal mail, may cause a delay in review of your application.

Are attorneys exempt from the requirements for obtaining a TN license?

Attorneys are not exempt from the requirements for an affiliate broker application. However, if the attorney has satisfactorily completed certain relevant classes, those hours may be used to fulfill the education requirements for the original affiliate broker license.

What examinations do I need to take to get my TN license?

You will need to take two final course exams from your 60-hour and 30-hour required courses, as well as the state’s affiliate broker licensing exam. The state exam comes with two distinct sections: a national portion and a state portion.

What steps do I need to take to get my TN affiliate broker license?

Before applying for your affiliate broker license in Tennessee, you must meet three requirements.

Is there a character assessment as part of the TN application process?

According to TCA 62-13-303, licenses shall only be granted to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact the business of affiliate broker in a manner to safeguard the interest of the public.

What are the questions that must be answered to take the state exam?

Candidates must answer a series of six questions. Answering “yes” to any of the first five questions could lower a candidate’s likelihood of being approved for a license in Tennessee.

What is the age requirement for getting a TN affiliate broker license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license.

What is the minimum education required to apply for a TN license?

You will be required to show proof of a high school diploma or equivalent when making your application for an affiliate broker license.

Do I need to be a TN resident in order to apply for a TN license?

If you are a resident from another state, you may still apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license if you hold a real estate salesperson license in your own state.

Will I need to provide a SSN to apply for a TN license?

All applicants for an affiliate broker license are required to submit an eligibility verification form. If you are claiming U.S. citizenship, you have the option of providing your social security number as part of your application in place of one of the following forms of identification with your application.

Can I get my TN license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

If you are on parole or probation, the Tennessee Real Estate Commission does not allow you to be scheduled for the state licensing exam until two years have passed from the date of expiration of probation, conviction, or release from incarceration, whichever is latest.

What are the requirements for applying for a license in TN?

In order to apply for an affiliate broker license in Tennessee, you must first meet the following three requirements.

What could keep me from receiving approval for a TN license?

The TREC carefully examines all applications for affiliate brokers. If you have been convicted of, pled no contest to, pled guilty to or been granted first offender treatment upon being charged with any criminal offense other than a traffic violation, you can expect your application to be especially scrutinized.

Does TN have any license accommodations for members of the military?

Military education, training, or experience can be considered as meeting the education requirements, in whole or in part, for an affiliate broker license if the Tennessee Real Estate Commission deems that it is equivalent to that required for licensure.

Can I get a real estate sales license in TN without becoming a broker?

Entry-level real estate licensees in Tennessee are considered affiliate brokers. This license is the equivalent of what is known as a real estate sales license in other states.

What is the cost of obtaining a Tennessee affiliate broker license?

1) Complete the 90-hour Tennessee Affiliate Broker real estate license course​: $149 2) Pass the real estate exam: $39/ attempt 3) Get Fingerprinted: $35 4) Submit your license application: $91 Total Cost: $314

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE