PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Michigan Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Michigan
  • About the 40-Hour Michigan Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Michigan Real Estate License Using iCOLA
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • How to Get a Michigan Real Estate License
  • Michigan License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Michigan Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your Michigan Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking The Michigan Real Estate Licensing Exam

Michigan Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Michigan real estate license, Michigan license qualifications and requirements, disclosing prior criminal activity, how to get a Michigan real estate license, reciprocity and out-of-state licensees, about the 40-hour Michigan real estate license course, applying for a Michigan real estate license using iCOLA, scheduling your Michigan real estate licensing exam, taking the Michigan real estate licensing exam, information about renewing a Michigan real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 40-Hour Michigan Real Estate License Course

How long do I have to complete the MI pre-license course?

According to the RealEstateU Terms and Conditions, you have 12 months to complete the RealEstateU 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course (including the final exam). The 12 months starts from the date you purchase the course.

Does my pre-license course Certificate expire?

Yes, you must apply for your Michigan real estate salespersons license within 3 years of completing the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course. If you fail to do so, you must retake the pre-license course.

Will my school notify LARA that I have completed the license course?

​Yes, RealEstateU will send your course completion information to LARA within 5 business days from the day you pass the final exam. You can then create your free iCOLA account to submit your Michigan license application.

How do I receive my MI course Certificate of Completion?

You will receive your Certificate of Completion for the 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course right after you pass the course final exam. The Certificate will be available to download as a PDF from within your RealEstateU account.

How many questions are on the MI pre-license course final exam?

​The final exam for the 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course consists of 60 multiple-choice questions with a passing grade of 70%.

Is the MI pre-license course final exam proctored?

No, the final exam for the 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course is not required to be proctored.

How many times can I take the MI pre-license course final exam?

​You can take the final exam for the 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course as many times as needed until you pass.

Can I use my college credits towards the MI pre-license course?

No, you cannot use any college credits toward the 40-hour Michigan real estate salesperson's course.​

Can I use my law degree credits towards the MI pre-license course?

No, you cannot use any law degree credits toward the 40-hour Michigan real estate salesperson's course. LARA will only accept law degree credits to be used towards the 90-hour Michigan real estate broker's course.​

Can I take the MI pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

Yes, you are allowed to take (and complete) the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course while you are still in high school. LARA only requires that you are at least 18 years old when it comes time to apply for your Michigan real estate salespersons license.

Can I take the 40-hour MI real estate license course online?

​Yes! You can certainly take the 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course online. In fact, most students opt to take the course online. The online course format allows you to take the course at your own pace and is usually offered at a better price.

How can I take the 40-hour MI real estate license course?

You can take the 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course online or in a classroom. Most students prefer to take the course online since the online format allows them to complete the course more quickly. If you take the course in a classroom, you must do so according to the school's preset schedule.

How many hours of education is required to get a MI license?

You are required to complete 40-hours of pre-license coursework, which includes at least four hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity housing.

What course am I required to take to get a MI real estate license?

You must complete the Michigan 40-hour pre-license course in order to qualify to obtain a Michigan real estate salesperson's license.​

Applying For a Michigan Real Estate License Using iCOLA

How can my broker confirm my sponsorship through iCOLA?

If you submitted your broker's 10-digit ID number as part of your application, your sponsoring broker should then log in to their own iCOLA account and confirm your sponsorship. If you did not include your broker's ID number, your broker will then have to submit an Employing Broker Notification form.

Will LARA waive my license application fees if I'm a Veteran?

​Yes, LARA will waive your application fee if you served in the armed forces. To receive the waiver, you must submit a form DD214, DD215, or any other form acceptable to LARA that demonstrates you were separated from service with an honorable character of service or under honorable conditions character of service.

Does my MI license application expire?

Yes, your MI real estate license application expires one year from the date it is received by LARA. Within the one-year period, you must pass the MI state licensing exam and have a sponsoring broker confirm your employment. Otherwise, you will have to submit a new license application and pay another application fee.​

Can I apply for a MI real estate license if I don't have broker?

​Yes, you can still submit your Michigan real estate license application if you do not have a sponsoring broker; however, you will not receive a license until you have a sponsoring broker.

How much is the MI real estate license application?

Your license application fee will vary depending on when in the 3-year license cycle you are applying. The application fee may be $88, $62, or $36. The application fee is payable using a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card credit card.

How do I submit a license application through iCOLA?

First, you must log in to your iCOLA account, and click on 'Apply for a New License'. Next, verify your information and answer the required questions. If you have a sponsoring broker you must add their 10-digit permanent ID number. Finally, review and confirm your payment by clicking 'Pay Now'.

How do I create an iCOLA account?

Here are the steps to create an iCOLA account. 1) Go to the iCOLA website. 2) Select "I need to create an account to use online services". 3) Select the option for an individual. 4) Enter the required information. 5) Create a username and password. 6) Click the 'Register' button and your iCOLA account will be created.

What is iCOLA?

​iCOLA is an acronym for Commercial Occupation Licensing Application. It is the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs' (LARA) online platform used to submit a license application, transfer a real estate license between brokers, and renew a real estate license.

I just completed the 40-hour MI pre-license course, now what?

Once you complete the 40-hour pre-license course, you are now ready to submit your Michigan real estate license application through iCOLA. Once LARA approves your license application, they will email you your MIRE number, which you can use to schedule your state exam through PSI.

What are the requirements to submit a MI real estate license?

Before you can submit your MI real estate salesperson's license application, you must satisfy the following requirements: 1) You must have completed the 40-hour MI pre-license course. 2) You must be at least 18 years old. 3) You must have good moral character.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to LARA?

You will be asked if you have ever been convicted of a felony on your license application. If you answer "Yes" you will be required to submit additional information to LARA. Once LARA reviews and approves this information, you will receive an email notifying you of your authorization to register for the exam.

What past criminal activity must I disclose to LARA?

You must disclose any past felony convictions to LARA when it comes time to submit your license application.

Can I get my MI license if I have a prior conviction?

Yes, it is still possible to obtain a Michigan real estate salesperson's license if you have a prior conviction, including a felony conviction. LARA will have to review your specific case after you submit your license application to determine if they will accept or deny your application.

How to Get a Michigan Real Estate License

What tests do I need to take to get my MI real estate license?

You must pass two tests in order to obtain your Michigan real estate salespersons license. First, you must pass the school's final exam for the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course. Second, you must pass the state licensing exam.​

How long does it take to get my MI real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of the minimum time-frame needed to obtain your MI real estate license: 1) Complete the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course: 1 week 2) Submit your license application and receive your Exam Candidate ID number: 5 days 3) Schedule and pass the state licensing exam: 2 days. Total Time: 2 weeks

How much does it cost to get my MI real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of all the costs associated with obtaining a Michigan real estate salespersons license: 1) Complete the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course: $99. 2) Submit your license application fee: $88. 3) Take the state licensing exam: $79 per attempt. Total Cost: $266

How do I get my Michigan real estate salespersons license?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your Michigan real estate salespersons license. Step #1: Complete the 40-hour pre-license course. Step #2: Apply for your Michigan real estate salespersons license through iCOLA. Step #3: Schedule your state exam. Step #4: Pass the state exam.

Michigan License Qualifications / Requirements

Can I get my MI real estate license if I'm not a MI resident?

Yes, you are not required to be an MI resident in order to obtain an MI real estate salesperson's license. However, you must work under a sponsoring broker who holds an MI real estate broker's license. You must also submit a signed and notarized Consent to Service of Process with your license application.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my MI real estate license?

No, you are not required to hold a high school diploma (or its equivalent) in order to obtain a Michigan real estate salesperson's license. You are only required to be at least 18 years old and have good moral character.

How old do I have to be to get a MI real estate license?

According to section 339.2502a(1) of the Michigan Occupational Code, you must be at least 18 years of age to receive a Michigan real estate salesperson's license.

Michigan Real Estate License Renewal

Can I be exempt from renewing my MI license if I'm a Veteran?

​Yes, if you are mobilized for active military duty, you are temporarily exempt from renewing your real estate license. You must inform LARA and apply for the exemption. The exemption is valid until 90 days after your release from military duty, but shall not exceed 36 months from your license expiration date.

How do I reinstate a revoked MI real estate license?

​If your license was revoked, you must wait at least 3 years to apply for a new license. In addition, you must complete the same requirements as a new applicant, including: 1) Complete the 40-hour MI pre-license course. 2) Submit a new license application and pay the application fee. 3) Pass the state licensing exam.

How do I reinstate an expired MI real estate license?

In order to reinstate your license within 3 years of your license expiration date, you must pay the required fees, and ​complete one of the following: 1) Complete the required continuing education credits; or, 2) Complete the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course; or, 3) Retake and pass the Michigan state licensing exam.

What happens if I do not renew my MI license on time?

If you do not renew your Michigan real estate salesperson's license by the required renewal date, your license will be considered expired and you will not be able to continue practicing real estate until your license is reinstated.

What are the CE requirements for MI licensees?

1) Complete 18 hours of CE courses that involve any subjects that are relevant to the management, operation, and practice of real estate. 2) Within the required 18 hours of CE, you must complete at least 2 hours of coursework per year that involves law, rules, and court cases regarding real estate.

What is required in order to renew a MI real estate license?

In order to renew your Michigan real estate salesperson's license, you must do the following: 1) Complete the required continuing education credits (6-18 credits in total). 2) Submit your renewal application online through your iCOLA account. 3) Pay the $78 renewal fee using a debit or credit card.

How soon can I renew my MI real estate license?

​You will receive a renewal notification via mail approximately 90 days prior to your renewal date. You can then renew your license online through your iCOLA account.

How often do I have to renew my MI real estate license?

​Michigan real estate salesperson licenses expire every three years starting from October 31, 2015. This means you must renew your license on or before October 31st, 2018, 2021, 2024, etc.

How much does it cost to renew my MI real estate license?

It costs $78 to renew your Michigan real estate salesperson's license. You must make the payment online through your iCOLA account using a debit or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card)​.

How do I renew my Michigan real estate license?

​You must renew your Michigan real estate salesperson's license online through your iCOLA account. You must pay the $78 renewal fee using a debit or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card).

Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Michigan real estate license?

As a Michigan licensee, under the supervision of a sponsoring broker, you may represent a seller or landlord to sell or lease their property, or represent a buyer or tenant to buy or rent a property, and earn a commission in the process. This applies to all residential, commercial, or industrial property in Michigan.

RealEstateU Questions

Is the RealEstateU Michigan pre-license course state approved?

Yes! The RealEstateU online 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course is fully approved by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) and Arello. School approval number: 557. Course approval number: 557-3040. Course ID number: 16120. Arello approval number: 7234

Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

How can I get my MI license if I'm licensed in another state?

If you hold a real estate license in another state, LARA may grant you an MI license if they determine that your prior experience and education is substantially equal to that required in Michigan. If LARA does not grant you a license this way, you will have to obtain your license the same way as any non-licensee.

Does Michigan offer reciprocity with other states?

Michigan does not have a formal reciprocity agreement with any other state. However, LARA may still grant a Michigan real estate license to an individual licensed in another state who has experience and training substantially equal to that required in Michigan.

Scheduling Your Michigan Real Estate Licensing Exam

Can I take my MI state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you are permitted to take the state licensing exam if you do not have a sponsoring broker. However, you will not receive your real estate license until you have a broker confirm your employment.

Does my MI state exam registration expire?

Yes, your exam registration expires after one year. If you do not take or pass the state exam within one year, you will have to re-register for the state exam and pay for another exam fee.​

How do I change or cancel my MI state exam date?

​You may cancel or reschedule your exam date without forfeiting your exam fee if you notify PSI at least two days before your exam date. Otherwise, you will have to pay for another exam fee in order to reschedule your exam.

Where can I take the MI real estate licensing exam?

​You must take the Michigan state licensing exam at a PSI testing center. There are seven PSI locations within the state of Michigan. However, you can take the state exam at any PSI testing center throughout the country.

How long does it take LARA to send my information to PSI?

​LARA will electronically send your information to the PSI testing center within 48 business hours of your license application being approved.

How do I pay for the MI state licensing exam?

​The $79 state licensing exam fee is typically paid using a credit card. The fee is paid directly to PSI when you schedule your state exam. You also have the option to mail in a money order, company check, or cashier's check.

How much does the MI real estate exam cost?

The Michigan state licensing exam costs $79 per attempt. The exam fee is nonrefundable and paid directly to PSI.​

What is an Exam Candidate ID (MIRE) number?

Once LARA approves your license application, they will send you your 6-digit Exam Candidate ID number, also known as your MIRE number, via email. This number is used to schedule your state exam. You will have to provide this number to PSI, which they will use to verify that you are eligible to take the exam.

How do I schedule my MI real estate licensing exam?

​Once your license application is approved by LARA, they will electronically send your information to PSI. LARA will also send you an email with your 6-digit Exam Candidate Number. At this point, you can then schedule your state exam online through the PSI website or by phone at (800)733-9267, and pay the $79 exam fee.

When can I schedule my MI state licensing exam?

​After your license application is approved by LARA, you will receive an email from the State of Michigan notifying you of your authorization to register for the state exam. The email will contain your MIRE number. Once you have this number, you can then schedule your state exam through PSI.

Taking The Michigan Real Estate Licensing Exam

When do I get my MI real estate license?

If your sponsoring broker confirmed your employment through iCOLA at least 48 hours prior to your state exam date, you will receive ​a photo pocket license at the PSI testing center, right after you pass the state exam. LARA will then mail a state-issued paper wall license and a pocket card to your sponsoring broker.

Do my MI state licensing exam results expire?

Yes, your Michigan state licensing exam results are only valid for up to one year.​

How do I retake the MI state exam if I previously failed?

​If you did not pass the Michigan state licensing exam, you must schedule a new exam attempt through PSI. You can do so through PSI's website or by phone at (800)733-9267. You will also have to pay another $79 examination fee.

What are the exam policies at the MI PSI testing center?

Please have a look at page 3 of the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for the PSI exam policies.

Can I request extra time for the MI state licensing exam?

​Yes, you may request additional time beyond the 180-minute time-limit for the Michigan state licensing exam. There is an additional fee of $50 per exam attempt. To obtain additional time, you must submit a Michigan Exam Accommodations Request form prior to your exam date.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the MI state exam?

​All PSI testing centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the ADA. If you have a disability and would like to request testing accommodations, you must submit a request HERE. You are also required to submit additional documentation.

What am I required to bring with me to the MI state exam?

You must bring two valid forms of ID to the PSI testing center. Thie first ID must be a valid, government-issued ID that includes your signature and a current photo. The second ID must include your signature.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the MI state exam?

We recommend that you bring a calculator to the Michigan state licensing exam; however, please note, PSI only permits non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing capabilities, and do not have a keyboard. You cannot use your smartphone as a calculator.​

I just passed my MI real estate exam, now what?

If your sponsoring broker confirmed your employment through iCOLA, you will receive a photo pocket license at the PSI testing center right after you pass the state exam. This will allow you to start work immediately as an MI real estate salesperson. Otherwise, you must submit an Employment Broker Notification form.

How long does it take to get my MI state exam results?

​You will receive your Michigan state licensing exam score right after you complete the exam. If you passed the exam, you will only receive a PASS score. Passing numerical scores are not available. If you did not pass the exam, you will receive an individual score for each of the major sections in the exam outline.

How many times can I take the MI state exam?

You can take the Michigan state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to schedule a new exam attempt through PSI and pay for another exam fee.​

What is included on the MI state licensing exam?

Here is an outline of what is on the MI state exam: property ownership, land use controls and regulations, valuation and market analysis, financing, general principles of agency, property disclosures, contracts, leasing and property, management, transfer of title, practice of real estate, real estate calculations.

How many questions are on the MI state licensing exam?

​There are 115 multiple-choice questions on the Michigan state licensing exam. You must answer at least 80 questions correctly (70%) in order to pass. There is a 180-minute time-limit for the exam.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Michigan
  • About the 40-Hour Michigan Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Michigan Real Estate License Using iCOLA
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • How to Get a Michigan Real Estate License
  • Michigan License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Michigan Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your Michigan Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking The Michigan Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE