PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Missouri Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Missouri FAQs
  • 24-Hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course
  • About the 48-hour Missouri Real Estate Pre-exam Salesperson Course
  • Applying for a Missouri Real Estate License
  • How to Get a Missouri Real Estate License
  • Missouri Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • Missouri Getting Fingerprinted
  • Missouri License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Missouri Real Estate License Renewal
  • Missouri Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Scheduling Your Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam

Missouri Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Missouri real estate license, the Missouri real estate salespersons course, how to prepare for the MO state exam, how to renew your MO real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

24-Hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course

Can I take the 24-hour MREP course if I'm still in high school?

The 24-hour pre-exam course is available through traditional learning channels (classroom learning options) as well as online channels (distance learning options).[AW1]

Can I use my law degree credits toward the 24-hour MREP course?

Unfortunately, the Missouri Real Estate Commission doesn’t allow law school credits to be used toward the 48-hour pre-examination course or the 24-hour real estate practice course. Students are required to complete the MREC-approved 48-hour pre-exam education course.[AW2]

Can I use my college credits toward the 24-hour MREP course?

The Missouri Real Estate Commission may waive educational requirements should the individual’s background and experience be found acceptable by the commission.[AW3] College credits will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

Is the 24-hour MREP course final exam proctored?

No. The two mandatory Missouri pre-license coursework exams are both available online, where proctoring is not a requirement.

How many questions are on the 24-hour MREP course final exam?

According to the MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-7.080 (1)(B), the 24-hour final exam for the Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course includes 50 multiple-choice questions. Students must earn a grade of 75% or above to pass. MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-7.080(1)(E).

How can I take the 24-hour Missouri real estate practice course?

The 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice coursework is available through traditional learning channels (classroom learning options) as well as online channels (distance learning options). However, many students find they prefer the flexibility and convenience that online coursework offers.

Can I take the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice course online?

Yes. The 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course is available online through an MREC-approved school, like RealEstateU. Note that the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course can be taken at any time prior to applying for a Missouri real estate license.

About the 48-hour Missouri Real Estate Pre-exam Salesperson Course

How can I take the 48-hour Missouri real estate pre-exam course?

The 48-hour pre-exam course is available through traditional learning channels (classroom learning options) as well as online channels (distance learning options). If you take the course in a classroom, you will have to abide by the school’s pre-set schedule.

Can I take the 48-hour Missouri real estate pre-exam course online?

Yes. Most students prefer the flexibility offered by the online Missouri pre-exam course as these courses provide scheduling flexibility to meet most students’ time constraints. Anyone can take the 48-hour Missouri real estate pre-exam course online by registering with an MREC-approved school.

Can I take the MO 48-hour pre-exam course if I'm still in high school?

Yes, you can enroll in the Missouri 48-hour pre-exam license course while still in high school. The Missouri Real Estate Commission only requires that pre-exam course students are at least 18 years old.

Can I use my law degree as credit toward the Missouri pre-exam course?

Members of the Missouri bar are provided an education waiver regarding the Missouri 48-hour pre-exam course if they submit evidence of their law license when applying for a Missouri real estate license.

Can I use my college credits toward the MO 48-hour pre-exam course?

Unfortunately, the Missouri Real Estate Commission does not allow college credits to be used toward this pre-license Missouri education requirement. Instead, you must enroll in and complete the MREC-approved 48-hour pre-exam coursework prior to applying for a Missouri real estate license.

How will the certificate for the 48-hour pre-exam course be provided?

Students studying online earn their Certificate of Completion by completing the 48-hour pre-exam course distance learning program with RealEstateU.

How many hours of education must be completed for a MO license?

The two required courses – the 48-hour pre-exam course and the 24-hour real estate practice course – include a total of 72 hours of classroom instruction required for licensure.

What course(s) am I required to take to get a MO real estate license?

Applicants for a Missouri real estate license, who currently are unlicensed in any other jurisdiction, must complete the 48-hour pre-exam course, and the MREP – the Missouri Real Estate Practice course that covers 24 classroom hours.

Applying for a Missouri Real Estate License

How do I receive an inactive Missouri real estate license?

MO licensees can place their real estate license in an inactive status by completing the Missouri Information and License Change form as follows: · The Missouri licensee completes sections 1A through 1C. · The salesperson’s broker completes 2A and returns the original salesperson license with the form.

How does one change from an inactive to an active MO license status?

To reactivate a Missouri real estate license that has been in an inactive status for more than six months, the licensee must submit a completion certificate for the 24-hour MREP (Missouri Real Estate Practice) course when submitting the renewal or change of status paperwork.

How do I receive an active Missouri real estate license?

All real estate licenses in Missouri are issued as active licenses. Missouri real estate licenses remain in an active status until the license holder proactively chooses to place the license in an inactive status.

What are the application requirements for a MO real estate license?

When an individual has completed the 72 hours of pre-license education and has passed both sections (national and state) of the state exam, the individual is now eligible to apply for a Missouri real estate license.

How do I apply for my Missouri real estate salesperson license?

Applicants for a Missouri real estate license can submit an application form when they have completed all other eligibility requirements. Missouri real estate license applicants must use forms provided by the Missouri Real Estate Commission and complete the application forms honestly.

How much is the Missouri real estate license application?

According to the MREC, the application fee for a real estate license is $50, however, there is an additional $40 fee for the issuance of a Missouri real estate salesperson license. The application fees for real estate licenses are set forth by the Missouri Real Estate Commission and are nonrefundable.

Can I get a temporary work permit from the MREC?

Yes. According to Missouri Statute 339.040(7), the Missouri Real Estate Commission may issue a temporary work permit if it appears the real estate license applicant has met all other state licensing requirements.

When should I submit my real estate license application to the MREC?

The application for a real estate license should be sent to the Missouri Real Estate Commission when the applicant has completed the 48-hour pre-exam course, the 24-hour real estate practice course, and passed the Missouri State exam.

Can I get a Missouri real estate license if I don't work for a broker?

Yes. According to Missouri Statute 339.040(4), an individual who has yet to associate with a licensed real estate broker in Missouri for supervision is permitted to take the state real estate exam.

How to Get a Missouri Real Estate License

What is the cost of obtaining a Missouri real estate license?

The total fees associated with obtaining your Missouri real estate salesperson license is $345.75.

Are there any fee waivers available for military families?

According to Missouri Statute section 324.015 RSMo, effective August 2018, the commission will waive occupational licensing fees – upon request – for two years, beginning with the date the request is approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

How long does it take to get my Missouri real estate license?

According to the MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-3.010(11), the commission has the authority to hold a real estate application for a reasonable amount of time to complete a thorough investigation.

What tests do I need to take to get my Missouri real estate license?

There are two exams you need to pass in order to apply for your Missouri real estate salesperson license. You will need to pass the final exam and the Missouri state licensing exam.

How do I get my Missouri real estate salesperson license?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your Missouri real estate salesperson license.

Are there any fee waivers available for low income families?

According to Missouri Statute section 324.015 RSMo, effective August 2018, the commission will waive occupational licensing fees – upon request – for two years, beginning with the date the request is approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

Missouri Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

Can I get my Missouri license if I have a prior conviction?

Certain convictions will automatically result in the denial of a real estate application. However, the Missouri Real Estate Commission has the authority to deny a real estate license application for convictions that do not result in an automatic denial.

What does the Missouri Commission consider a conviction?

An application may be denied, or a real estate license may be revoked for the following reasons: · Any person who has been shown to be guilty in a court of law for: · Embezzlement · Forgery · Criminal Conspiracy to defraud, among other convictions. Missouri Statute 556.061.(8).

What past criminal activity must I disclose to the MREC?

The Missouri real estate application must disclose information regarding an applicant’s past criminal, including felony and or misdemeanor charges.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the MREC?

The information regarding past criminal behavior must be included in section 1B of the Missouri real estate application, with additional information included on a separate piece of paper if needed.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the MREC?

Criminal activity that has occurred during a real estate license applicant’s past must be disclosed on the real estate application provided by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

Am I required to disclose a bankruptcy when applying for a MO license?

According to the Missouri Real Estate Commission, personal bankruptcy has no impact on license eligibility and, therefore, does NOT need to be revealed on the real estate license application.

Missouri Getting Fingerprinted

How long will it take for the MREC to receive my fingerprints?

The background search result can take anywhere from 3 to 5 days to be received by the Missouri Real Estate Commission from the Missouri State Highway Patrol.

How much does it cost to get my fingerprints taken in Missouri?

The cost for fingerprinting in Missouri is $41.75. This fee is split as follows: · The fee to IDEMIA is $8.50. · The fee to the FBI is $13.25. · The fee to the Missouri State Highway Patrol is $20.00.

How and where can I get my fingerprints taken if I'm not a resident?

An out-of-state real estate applicant must have their fingerprints taken by the local law enforcement agency through the process known as Cardscan. This agency will forward the fingerprints directly to IDEMIA. IDEMIA forwards these prints to the Missouri State Highway Patrol and the FBI.

When do I have to get my Missouri fingerprints taken?

Any individual who is applying for a real estate license in Missouri must be fingerprinted prior to the submission of a Missouri real estate license application. If fingerprints are somehow illegible, an applicant may be asked to come back to retake their fingerprints.

Why do applicants have to get their fingerprints taken in Missouri?

Any individual who is applying for a real estate license in Missouri must be fingerprinted before submitting a real estate application for licensure to the Missouri Real Estate Commission. Each real estate license applicant must have their fingerprints taken by a vendor-approved by the Missouri State Highway Patrol.

How can I get my fingerprints taken in Missouri?

Applicants for a MO real estate license must first register with MACHS – Missouri Automated Criminal History Site. When contacting MACHS, the applicant must provide the MREC’s four-digit authorization number, 0004, which essentially authorizes and directs the MSHP to forward the criminal history results to the MREC.

What does the Missouri Real Estate Commission do with my fingerprints?

The Missouri Real Estate Commission reviews the results of the criminal background check to determine if the real estate license applicant meets state eligibility requirements.

Missouri License Qualifications / Requirements

How old must I be to get a Missouri real estate license?

According to the Missouri Real Estate Commission's (MREC) website, an applicant for a Missouri real estate license must be 18 or older to apply. Evidence of the applicant’s age is provided when the applicant is fingerprinted. Missouri Statute 330.040.3.

Will I need a high school diploma to get my MO real estate license?

No, you do not need a high school diploma (or its equivalent) in order to obtain a Missouri real estate license. The Commission only requires that you be at least 18 years of age.

Can I get my Missouri real estate license if I'm not a MO resident?

Yes. An out of state resident can apply for a Missouri real estate license.

Missouri Real Estate License Renewal

How soon can I renew my Missouri real estate license?

Missouri real estate licenses are issued for two years. Each Missouri real estate license for a professional corporation (as a salesperson) or an inactive salesperson will expire on September 30 of each even-numbered year. All other real estate licenses expire on June 30 of each year that ends with an even number.

Will the Commission waive my CE requirements?

The Missouri Real Estate Commission will waive CE requirement with the provision of acceptable evidence and documentation (Missouri Statute CSR2250-10.100(6)).

What are the consequences if I do not renew my MO license on time?

Late fees for a Missouri real estate salesperson's license renewal are calculated at $50 per month (or any part of the month, thereof), with a maximum late fee of $200. It is important to note that a real estate licensee who is required to pay a late fee will clearly have a lapse in their license coverage.

How do I reinstate an expired MO real estate license?

Any Missouri real estate licensee who does not renew their license in the subsequent period will no longer be allowed to practice real estate in Missouri, as the license becomes null and void. Individuals must requalify as a new applicant to begin practicing real estate again. MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-4.020 (2).

What documents are required for a name change on a MO license?

According to a Missouri Real Estate Commission directive in 6-2018, a real estate licensee that is requesting a name change on their license must provide the required documents before the request is granted.

How do I renew an inactive Missouri real estate license?

To renew a Missouri real estate license that has been in an inactive status for more than six months, the licensee must reactivate the real estate license by submitting a completion certificate for the 24-hour MREP (Missouri Real Estate Practice) course with the renewal paperwork.

How do an active and an inactive license differ?

When a Missouri real estate license is in an active status, the licensee is allowed to engage in those activities defined by Missouri law as real estate activities. Licensees who have licenses in an inactive status cannot practice real estate in the State of Missouri.

How does one renew a Missouri real estate salesperson license?

Missouri real estate licensees can renew their real estate license online if the Missouri Real Estate Commission has not yet received the applicant’s most up-to-date information, including evidence of the completion of continuing education credits.

What is the cost to renew a Missouri real estate salesperson license?

When renewing a Missouri real estate license online, an applicant has several electronic payment options (debit/credit card, electronic bank check, etc.). This renewal form is available online.

How often do I have to renew my Missouri real estate license?

Missouri real estate licenses are issued for two years. Each Missouri real estate license for a professional corporation (as a salesperson) or an inactive salesperson will expire on September 30 of each even-numbered year. All other real estate licenses expire on June 30 of each year that ends with an even number.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in Missouri?

Any real estate salesperson licensee in Missouri with an active license must complete 12 hours of continuing education during their two-year licensing period. Missouri Statute 339.40(8). Note: each classroom hour is defined as 50 minutes for continuing education purposes.

What are the CE requirements for MO inactive licensees?

An inactive Missouri real estate licensee is not required to complete continuing education credits during the time the real estate license remains in an inactive status. However, a Missouri real estate licensee will need to complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course and exam.

What are the CE requirements for MO active licensees?

Any real estate salesperson licensee in Missouri with an active license must complete 12 hours of continuing education during each of the two-year licensing periods. Missouri CSR2250-10.100. Note: each classroom hour is defined as 50 minutes for continuing education purposes. Fractional hours will not be credited.

Missouri Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Does Missouri offer reciprocity with other states?

The State of Missouri technically offers reciprocity with all other states, if the Missouri real estate applicant currently holds a valid and current real estate license, completes the MREP (Missouri Real Estate Practice) Course, and passes the law portion of the Missouri State real estate exam.

How can I get my Missouri license through reciprocity?

An out-of-state resident from any other state can apply for a Missouri real estate license if they hold a current, valid real estate license from another jurisdiction, have completed the Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP), and passed the state portion of the Missouri State real estate exam.

How can I get my Missouri license if I'm licensed in another state?

An out-of-state resident can apply for a Missouri real estate license if they hold a current, valid real estate license from another jurisdiction, have completed the Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP) and passed the state portion of the Missouri State real estate exam.

How do I get my MO license if I'm not a Missouri resident?

Any person or allowable legal entity that is a recognized nonresident of Missouri can apply for a real estate license by submitting an application (on the proper Missouri Real Estate Commission form) with the appropriate fee and documentation. MREC Board Rule SCR 2250-4.080(1).

Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Missouri real estate license?

According to the Missouri Real Estate Commission, a sales associate is any individual or legal entity that for another and compensation (or in expectation of being compensated).

When is a Missouri real estate license required?

A real estate license is needed to perform real estate activities except as noted below (Missouri Statute 339.010(7)).

RealEstateU Questions

Is the RealEstateU Missouri pre-license course state-approved?

Yes. RealEstateU and the Missouri courses are fully approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. In addition, the Missouri real estate license coursework required to earn a Missouri real estate license has received approval from ARELLO – the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials.

Scheduling Your Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam

Does the State of MO offer discount programs to eligible veterans?

Any veteran who is applying for a professional license in Missouri has the opportunity to have the GI Bill pay for the cost of the licensing test.

What topics are included in the national section of the state exam?

The question topics and the number of questions for each topic on the national section of the MO real estate exam will include: · Contracts – 17 questions. · Real Estate Practice – 13 questions. · General Principles of Agency – 13 questions. · Financing – 10 questions. ...and more.

How do I change or cancel the exam date for my MO real estate exam?

Missouri State exam candidates have the option of rescheduling the exam for no fee online at the PSI Services’ website a minimum of two days before the currently scheduled test date. Candidates can also call PSI Services at 800-345-6559.

Do I need to take the MO state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

An out-of-state resident who holds a current, valid real estate license from another jurisdiction must also pass the state portion of the Missouri State real estate examination before submitting the Missouri real estate license application.

Will my school notify the MREC that I have completed my courses?

Yes. RealEstateU notifies the State of Missouri within one week for each student who has completed one (or both) pre-exam license courses. RealEstateU notifies the MREC at least once a week with these updates.

How do I schedule my Missouri real estate licensing exam?

Applicants for the Missouri Real Estate license can schedule an appointment by: · Calling PSI Services at 800-345-6559. · Going online to schedule.

How much does the Missouri real estate exam cost?

According to the Missouri Real Estate Commission, the cost of the Missouri State real estate exam is $65 for both the state and the national portions of the exam. The cost for each attempt to take the Missouri real estate exam is $65.

How do I pay for the Missouri State licensing exam?

Applicants may pay for the Missouri State real estate exam by credit card when they schedule the exam online. Applicants who reserve an exam space by calling PSI Services can use a credit card or personal/cashier’s check when they arrive at the testing center.

How long does it take to register and schedule my Missouri State exam?

Applicants can call PSI Services or go online to schedule their state exam in just a few minutes, but note, applicants are served on a first-come, first-served basis, with limited space.

Where can I take the Missouri real estate licensing exam?

The Missouri State real estate license exam is given by PSI Services in one of several testing locations throughout the State of Missouri. These locations include St. Louis, Kansas City, Jefferson City, Springfield, Missouri State University, and Kirksville.

How does the Commission know that I completed the pre-license course?

RealEstateU notifies the State of Missouri within one week for each student who has completed each (or both) pre-exam license courses. RealEstateU notifies the MREC at least once a week with these updates. MREC CSR 2250-7-080 (17).

Taking the Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam

Should I bring a calculator for the Missouri State exam?

Yes. It is recommended that real estate state exam test takers bring a non-scientific calculator to the exam.

What must I bring with me to the Missouri State real estate exam?

Test takers must provide two forms of an unexpired ID where the name on each ID matches. Each identification must include a signature. Examples of acceptable ID include a driver's license, green card, Social Security card, or credit card (with a signature).

Are there any testing accommodations available for the MO State exam?

According to the PSI Services Candidate Information Handbook, PSI Services provides reasonable accommodations as follows:– · For those test takers with a disability (sensory, visual, or physical). · For those test-takers who require wheelchair accessibility.

What are the exam policies at the MO PSI Services testing center?

PSI Services testing centers continuously videotape the entire testing premises to ensure a safe and secure environment for all test takers. Applicants who violate testing site rules may have their application denied by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. MREC Board Rule CSR2250-3.020(3).

How do I retake the Missouri State real estate exam if I fail?

Candidates who need to retake the Missouri State exam must make another appointment for an exam. While space availability dictates the next available testing date, theoretically a test taker who is unsuccessful on a Tuesday could call on Wednesday to reschedule for Thursday if space permits.

Can I take my Missouri State exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes. The state exam is available to applicants who have completed the 48-hour pre-exam course.

What is the fee to retake the Missouri State real estate exam?

The retest fee is the same as the initial testing fee for the Missouri real estate exam. According to the Missouri Real Estate Commission, the cost of the Missouri State real estate exam is $65 for both the state and the national portions of the exam.

How many questions are on the Missouri State licensing exam?

The Missouri State real estate exam is a multiple-choice computerized test. Applicants do not need to have any computer experience to take the Missouri real estate exam. The exam includes 100 national-based questions and 40 state-specific questions.

What is included in the Missouri State licensing exam?

The Missouri State real estate examination includes 100 national-based questions and 40 state-specific questions.

How many times can I take the Missouri State exam?

According to PSI Services, applicants may take the Missouri State real estate exam as often as they like, with no defined exam limits.

How long will it take to issue my Missouri State exam results?

The results from the Missouri State real estate test are available immediately following the completion of the exam. According to the PSI Services Information Booklet, the passing score for the state-specific portion of the Missouri real estate exam is 75% (30 out of 40 questions answered correctly).

I just passed my Missouri real estate exam, now what?

When a candidate has met the education requirements (the 48-hour pre-exam course plus the 24-hour real estate practice course) and has passed the Missouri State real estate exam, he or she is eligible for a real estate license in Missouri.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Missouri FAQs
  • 24-Hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course
  • About the 48-hour Missouri Real Estate Pre-exam Salesperson Course
  • Applying for a Missouri Real Estate License
  • How to Get a Missouri Real Estate License
  • Missouri Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • Missouri Getting Fingerprinted
  • Missouri License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Missouri Real Estate License Renewal
  • Missouri Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Scheduling Your Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE