PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: New York Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > New York License
  • About the 75-Hour New York Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a New York Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • eAccessNY
  • How to Get a New York Real Estate License
  • New York License Qualifications / Requirements
  • New York Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your New York Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking The New York Real Estate Licensing Exam

New York Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your New York State real estate license, New York license qualifications and requirements, disclosing prior criminal activity, how to get a New York real estate license, reciprocity and out-of-state licensees, information about the 75-hour New York real estate license course, information about eAccessNY, scheduling your New York real estate licensing exam, taking the New York real estate licensing exam, applying for a New York real estate license, New York real estate license renewal, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 75-Hour New York Real Estate License Course

Will the DOS waive the 75-hour education requirement?

​Yes, the NYS Department of State may waive the 75-hour pre-license course requirement if you hold a Bachelor's degree with a major or concentration in real estate. They may also waive the course requirement if you completed a substantially similar real estate pre-license course in another state.

How long do I have to complete the NY pre-license course?

According to section 176.25 of Article 12-A of the NY Real Property Law, you must complete the 75-hour online NYS real estate salespersons course (including the proctored final exam) within 12 months.

Does my NYS pre-license course Certificate expire?

Yes, your Certificate of Completion for the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course is only valid for up to 8 years. This means you must pass the NYS state licensing exam and apply for your NYS real estate license within 8 years of completing the course. Otherwise, you must retake the 75-hour course.

Will my school notify the DOS after I complete the license course?

Yes, RealEstateU will send your course completion information to the NYS Department of State within 5 business days of you passing the course final exam.

How do I receive my NY course Certificate of Completion?

​You will receive your Certificate of Completion right after you pass the course final exam. You can download the Certificate as a PDF from within your RealEstateU account. Please note, your Certificate of Completion is only for your records, as RealEstateU will send your course completion information to the NYS DOS.

How many questions are on the NY pre-license course final exam?

​The final exam for the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course consists of 75 multiple-choice questions, with a passing grade of 70%. There is a 90-minute time limit for the final exam.

Is the NY pre-license course final exam proctored?

Yes, you must complete a proctored final exam at the end of the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course. The proctored final exam must be taken at a location that is approved by the NYS Department of State and is located within New York State.

How many times can I take the NY pre-license course final exam?

You are allowed up to two attempts at the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course final exam. If you do not pass the final exam on the second attempt, you must retake the course.

Can I use my college credits towards the NY pre-license course?

The DOS will waive the 75-hour pre-license course requirement if you hold a Bachelor's Degree with a major or concentration in real estate. You must submit a request for a waiver to the DOS, along with official transcripts. All other college credits cannot be used towards the 75-hour pre-license course.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the NY pre-license course?

​You cannot use law school credits towards the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course; however, the Department of State will waive the 75-hour course requirement if you a licensed attorney that is admitted to the NYS Bar.

Can I take the NY pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

Yes, you are allowed to take (and complete) the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course while you are still in high school. The NYS Department of State only requires that you are at least 18 years old when it comes time to apply for your real estate license.

Can I take the 75-hour NY real estate license course online?

Yes! You can certainly take the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course online. In fact, most students prefer to take the course online. The online format allows you to complete the course at your own pace.

How can I take the 75-hour NY real estate license course?

You can take the 75-hour NYS license course online or in a classroom. Most students prefer to take the course online since you can complete the course much quicker and it is typically offered at a better price. If you take the course in a classroom, you must complete the course according to the school's schedule.

How many hours of education is required to get a NY license?

You must complete 75-hours of state-approved pre-license coursework in order to be eligible to obtain an NYS real estate salesperson's license.​

What course am I required to take to get a NY real estate license?

In order to be eligible to apply for an ​NYS license, you must complete the 75-hour NYS license course. The course must be approved by the NYS DOS. At the end of the course is a proctored final exam that you must pass in order to receive your Certificate of Completion for the course.

Applying For a New York Real Estate License

Can I apply for an NY license if I'm behind on child support payments?

​You will not be eligible to submit a NY real estate salesperson license application if you are more than four months in arrears in the payment of child support.

When is a paper license application required?

​A paper version of the NYS Real Estate Salesperson Application should only be used if: 1) You are applying for your license as an attorney admitted to the NYS Bar. 2) You were previously licensed. 3) The DOS waived the 75-hour education requirement. 4) You are applying for a NY real estate license via reciprocity.

Can I apply for a NY real estate license if I don't have broker?

No, you must have a sponsoring broker (who is a licensed NY real estate broker) in order to submit your NY real estate salesperson license application.​

How much is the NY real estate license application?

The NY real estate salesperson license application costs $55. You must make the payment through your eAccessNY account using a credit card.

When can I apply for my NY real estate license?

You can only apply for your NYS real estate salespersons license after you have completed the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course, passed the NY state licensing exam, and found a sponsoring broker.

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the DOS?

On your license application, you will have to tell the DOS if you have been convicted on a felony, if you have any pending charges, or if you have ever had a license revoked, suspended, or denied. You will also have to provide the required supporting documentation, which will allow the DOS to evaluate your case.

What past criminal activity must I disclose to the DOS?

​You must disclose the following criminal activity to the DOS as part of your license application: 1) If you have ever been convicted of a crime that is a misdemeanor or felony. 2) If you have any criminal charges (misdemeanor or felonies) pending. 3) If you ever had a license revoked, suspended, or denied.

Can I get my NY license if I have a prior conviction?

It is possible to obtain your NYS real estate salesperson's license if you have a prior conviction. However, you will not be eligible to receive a license if you have been convicted of the following crimes: a felony, a sex offense, or a sexually violent offense.

eAccessNY

How can my broker authorize my application through eAccessNY?

Your broker will have to do the following to authorize your application: 1) Log into their own eAccessNY account and click on "List of Licenses" 2) Under "Functions", click on "Authorize Initial Salesperson License" 3) Choose "Accept" next to your name 4) An "Authorize Initial License - Summary" page will then appear

How do I renew my license through eAccessNY?

1) Log in to your eAccessNY account and click on "List of Licenses (Access your license here)". 2) Click on "Renew License". 3) Answer the questions and click "Next Step". 4) Affirm the application and enter your credit card details.

How do I apply for my license through eAccessNY?

Log in to your eAccessNY account and click on "Apply for Initial Salesperson License". Enter your details and your sponsoring broker's details. Select the school where you completed the pre-license course. Pay for the application and print the "Summary of Your Submission" page.

How do I schedule my state exam through eAccessNY?

​To schedule your state exam, you must log in to your eAccessNY account and click on "Apply to Take an Exam", which is located on the Main Menu page. You then have to follow the instructions, pay the exam fee, and accept the exam policies.

How do I create an eAccessNY account?

1) Go to the eAccessNY website. 2) Select 'Create My Account'. 3) Enter your details and click "Preview". 4) Then click "Save". 5) You will then receive an email to change your temporary password. 6) Once you change your temporary password, you can then apply for the state licensing exam.

What is eAccessNY?

​eAccessNY is New York State's online licensing management system. You will use eAccessNY to schedule your state licensing exam, submit your license application, and renew your real estate license.

How to Get a New York Real Estate License

How do I get my New York real estate salespersons license?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your NYS real estate license: 1) Complete the 75-hour NYS real estate license course. 2) Pass the school's final exam. 3) Pass the state exam. 4) Apply for your license through eAccessNY with the help of your sponsoring broker.

What tests do I need to take to get my NY real estate license?

There are two tests you must pass in order to apply for your NYS real estate salespersons license. First, you must pass the school's proctored final exam. You will take this exam at the end of the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course. Second, you must pass the state licensing exam.

How long does it take to get my NY real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of the time-frame it will take to obtain your NYS license: 1) Complete the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course (including the proctored final exam): 2 weeks. 2) Pass the state exam: 2 weeks. 3) Submit your license application and have it approved by the DOS: 2 weeks. Total Time: 6 weeks​

How much does it cost to get my NY real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of the costs associated with obtaining your NYS license: 1) Complete the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course: $99. 2) Pass the school's proctored final exam: Free - $35. 3) Pass the state exam: $15 per attempt. 4) Submit your license application: $55. Total Cost: $169 - $204

New York License Qualifications / Requirements

Can I get my NY real estate license if I'm not a U.S. citizen?

Yes, only an NYS real estate broker is required to be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. Salespersons are not required to be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident; however, you must have at least a social security number.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my NY real estate license?

No, you are not required to hold a high school diploma (or its equivalent) in order to obtain an NYS real estate salesperson's license. You are only required to be at least 18 years old.

How old do I have to be to get a NY real estate license?

According to section 440-a of the NYS Real Estate License Law, you must be at least 18 years old to obtain an NYS real estate salesperson's license.

New York Real Estate License Renewal

Am I exempt from completing the CE for my NY real estate license?

Only a NY real estate broker who is engaged full time in the real estate business and who has been licensed prior to July 1, 2008, for at least 15 consecutive years, and has maintained continuous licensure; or, an attorney admitted to the New York State Bar who holds a real estate broker's license may be exempt.

How do I reinstate a revoked NY real estate license?

​If your NY real estate license was revoked, you will not be eligible to be re-licensed for at least one year. At that time, you must retake the NY state licensing exam, submit a new license application, and pay the $55 license application fee.

How do I reinstate an expired NY real estate license?

If your NY real estate license has been expired for less than 2 years, you may have your license reinstated by completing the following: 1) Complete the required 22.5 hours of continuing education. 2) Submit your renewal application online through your eAccessNY account. 3) Pay the $55 license renewal fee.

Does the DOS offer extensions for renewing a license?

The DOS may grant an extension to complete the required 22.5 hours of CE. However, extensions may only be granted for a "bona fide hardship". You must also submit evidence demonstrating hardship, along with a written request for an extension as part of your renewal application.

What is required in order to renew my NY real estate license?

In order to renew your NY real estate salespersons license, you must: 1) Complete the required 22.5 hours of continuing education. 2) Submit your renewal application online through your eAccessNY account. 3) Pay the $55 renewal fee through your eAccessNY account using a credit card.

What happens if my NY license is expired for more than two years?

If you fail to renew your license within 2 years after your license expiration date, you will have to retake the state exam, apply for a new real estate license, and pay the application fee.

What happens if I do not renew my NY license on time?

If you fail to renew your NY real estate license on-time, your license will be considered expired and you will not be able to resume practicing real estate until your license is reinstated. The NY DOS does not offer a grace period for renewals.

What are the CE requirements for NY licensees?

​You must complete 22.5-hours of CE for each 2-year renewal period. Prior to July 1, 2021, all licensees must complete 22.5 hours of approved CE, including 3 hours of fair housing, and at least 1 hour of law of agency. If you are renewing your NY license for the first time, you must complete 2 hours of law of agency.

How soon can I renew my NY real estate license?

​You can renew your NY real estate salespersons license through your eAccessNY account up to three months prior to your license expiration date. Three months prior to your license expiration date, you will receive an email and postcard from the NYS Department of State reminding you to renew your license.

How often do I have to renew my NY real estate license?

You must renew your NY real estate salespersons license every two years. Your license expiration date will be printed on your real estate license.

How much does it cost to renew my NY real estate license?

It costs $55 to renew your NY real estate salespersons license. You must make the payment through your eAccessNY account using a credit card.

Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my New York real estate license?

As a licensed NY salesperson, you will be allowed to represent sellers or landlords to sell or lease their property, or represent buyers or tenants looking to buy or rent a property, and earn a commission in the process. This applies to all types of real estate (residential, commercial, or industrial) throughout NY.

RealEstateU Questions

Is the RealEstateU 75-hour NY license course approved by the DOS?

Yes, the RealEstateU 75-hour online NYS real estate salesperson course and 22.5-hour online NYS continuing education course are fully approved by both the NYS Department of State and Arello.

Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Can I get an NJ license if I'm licensed in NY?

New Jersey does not offer reciprocity with New York; however, if you hold an active NY real estate salesperson's license, NJ may waive their pre-license course requirement, which means you only have to pass the NJ state licensing exam and apply for an NJ license.

Can I get my NY license if I'm license in NJ?

​New York does not offer reciprocity with New Jersey; however, the DOS may waive the 75-hour NYS salesperson course requirement if you can show evidence that you have completed the NJ pre-license course. This means you will only have to pass the NYS state licensing exam and apply for your NY real estate license.

Can I get my NY real estate license if I'm not a NY resident?

Yes, you are not required to be a New York State resident to obtain your NYS real estate salespersons license. However, please note, you must complete both the school's proctored final exam and the proctored NYS state licensing exam at approved proctoring locations within New York State.

How can I get my NY license if I'm licensed in another state?

Unless you are eligible to apply for an NYS license via reciprocity​, you must obtain your license the same way as any non-licensee. This includes: 1) Complete the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course (including the final exam). 2) Pass the NYS state licensing exam. 3) Submit your NYS license application.

How do I get my NY real estate license via reciprocity?

​To obtain your NYS license via reciprocity, you must: 1) Hold a current real estate license in your home state 2) Be sponsored by your home-state broker who must also hold a current NY broker's license 3) Submit a completed Salesperson Application 4) Pay the $55 application fee 5) Submit an irrevocable consent form

Does New York offer reciprocity with other states?

​Yes, New York State offers reciprocity with 9 other states: Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, West Virginia

Scheduling Your New York Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I find my "Summary of Your Submission" page?

​You will have to bring a print-out of the "Summary of Your Submission" page with you to the state exam. If you did not print this page after scheduling your state exam, you can find the page again by logging in to your eAccessNY account and clicking on "View Scheduled Exam Details" on the Main Menu page.

Can I take my state exam while still working on the 75-hour course?

Yes, you can schedule and take the NYS state licensing exam while you are still working on the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course. The Department of State only requires that you complete the 75-hour course and pass the state exam prior to submitting your license application.

Can I take my NY state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you do not need a sponsoring broker in order to take the state exam. You only need a sponsoring broker when it comes time to submit your license application.​

How do I reschedule my NY state exam date?

​You can reschedule your state exam anytime within 6 days prior to your exam date. To reschedule your exam date, log in to your eAccessNY account and click on "View Scheduled Exam Details". Then click on the "Reschedule" button and follow the instructions.

Where can I take the NY real estate licensing exam?

​You must take the NY state licensing exam at one of the Department of State's 12 proctoring locations within New York State. You can click HERE for a list of all 12 proctoring locations along with their addresses.

How much does the NY real estate exam cost?

​The NYS state licensing exam costs $15 per attempt. You must pay for the exam through your eAccessNY account using a credit card.

When can I schedule my NY state licensing exam?

Most students schedule their NY state licensing exam after completing the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course since the course will prepare them for the exam. However, you can still schedule and take the state exam prior to completing the 75-hour course.

I just completed the 75-hour NY pre-license course, now what?

​Once you complete the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course, you can then schedule your state exam through eAccessNY. You will first have to create your eAccessNY account before you can schedule your state exam.

Taking The New York Real Estate Licensing Exam

Do my NY state licensing exam results expire?

​​Your NY state licensing exam results are only valid for up to two years. This means you must have a sponsoring broker and submit your license application within two years of passing the state exam. Otherwise, you will have to retake the state exam.

How do I retake the NY state exam if I previously failed?

If you did not pass the NY state licensing exam, you must schedule a new attempt through your eAccessNY account and pay the $15 examination fee.​

What are the exam policies at the NY testing center?

Only permitted calculators may be used. Electronic devices must be turned off. Reference materials, large bags, and briefcases are not allowed. Eating, drinking or smoking is not permitted. Visitors are not permitted. Any person who violates any of the exam policies will be dismissed from the exam site.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the NY state exam?

​Yes, there are testing accommodations available for persons with disabilities. If you need a testing accommodation you should not schedule your exam online through eAccessNY. Instead, you must call the Department of State at (518)474-4429 to arrange your testing accommodation.

What am I required to bring with me to the NY state exam?

​You must bring a current (not expired), government-issued ID that includes your signature and photo. You must also bring a print-out of your "Summary of Your Submission", which you can get through your eAccessNY account.​

Do I need to bring a calculator for the NY state exam?

​We recommend that you bring a calculator to the state exam; however, the calculator must be battery or solar-powered, silent, non-printing, and not contain a keyboard. Please note, you cannot use your smartphone as a calculator.

I just passed my NY real estate exam, now what?

​After you pass the NY state licensing exam, you can then apply for your NY real estate salespersons license through your eAccessNY account. Please note, you cannot apply for your license until you have a sponsoring broker.

How long does it take to get my NY state exam results?

You can view your state exam results through your eAccessNY account within a few days after taking the exam. When you log in to your eAccessNY account, click on "View Exam Results". If you see "Waiting for Score", this means your results have not been processed yet. Otherwise, you will see either a "Pass" or "Fail".

How many times can I take the NY state exam?

You can take the NY state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to schedule a new attempt through your eAccessNY account and pay the $15 examination fee.

Can I take the NY state exam in another language?

​Yes, you can take the NY state exam in Spanish, Korean, Russian, or Chinese. You must notify the exam proctor when you arrive at the testing center in order to take the exam in one of these four languages.

How many questions are on the NY state licensing exam?

​The NY state licensing exam consists of 75 multiple-choice questions with a passing grade of 70%. There is also a 90-minute time limit for the exam.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > New York License
  • About the 75-Hour New York Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a New York Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • eAccessNY
  • How to Get a New York Real Estate License
  • New York License Qualifications / Requirements
  • New York Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
  • Scheduling Your New York Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking The New York Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE