FAQ: North Carolina Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License
North Carolina Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License
On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your North Carolina real estate license, the North Carolina real estate broker course, how to prepare for the NC state exam, how to renew your NC real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.
About the NC State’s Real Estate Education Requirements
If I already hold a law degree do I still need the NC 75-hour course?
Can I waive the education requirements for my NC application?
How many hours of education are required for a North Carolina license?
How do I receive my NC pre-license course completion certificate?
Can I take the NC pre-license coursework if I’m still in high school?
Is the North Carolina pre-license course final exam proctored?
How can I take the 75-hour pre-license course?
What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in NC?
Do I need a high school diploma to get my North Carolina license?
Applying for a Real Estate License in NC
If I pass the exam and meet all requirements will I get my NC license?
What documents are required for my NC real estate license application?
- The application.
- Proof of satisfactory completion of pre-licensure education.
- Criminal background report.
- Payment of $100 application fee.
What are errors and omissions insurance?
What do I do once I have successfully passed the NC state exam?
Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity in North Carolina
How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Commission?
How do I know if a past conviction prevents me from getting a license?
What does the NC Real Estate Commission consider to be a conviction?
Can I get my NC license if I have a prior conviction?
NC License Qualifications and Requirements
What are the character questions on the NC broker license application?
1. Have you EVER been convicted of any criminal offense (felony or misdemeanor)
2. Have you EVER been denied a real estate or other professional license or been disciplined by an occupational licensing agency
3. Are there any liens or unpaid judgments now outstanding against you?
Is a character assessment required as part of the application process?
What steps do I need to take to get my NC provisional broker license?
2. Submit a complete license application.
3. Schedule your exam.
4. Pass the state exam.
5. Receive your license and activate it.
What examinations do I need to take to get my NC license?
Are attorneys exempt from the requirements for obtaining an NC license
Is there a way to speed up the time it takes to get my NC license?
What is the cost of obtaining an NC provisional broker license?
Pre-Licensing Course: 249
License application fee: $100/ attempt (paid to NC Real Estate Commission)
License examination fee: $64/attempt (paid to PSI).
Criminal background check: $30
Total cost: $443
Does NC have any license accommodations for members of the military?
What could keep me from receiving approval for an NC license?
What is required to apply for a provisional broker license in NC?
Can I get my NC license if I have a past arrest or conviction?
Can I get an NC license if I don’t work for a broker-in-charge?
Do I need to provide a Social Security number to apply for a license?
Do I need to be an NC resident in order to apply for an NC license?
Do I need a high school diploma to get an NC real estate license?
Is there an age requirement to get an NC provisional broker license?
Can I get a real estate salesperson license in North Carolina?
NC Real Estate Profession Related Questions
When is a broker license required in North Carolina?
What can I do with my North Carolina provisional broker license?
NC Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees
Can I obtain my North Carolina license if I’m not a U.S. citizen?
Does a non-resident applicant need to file an irrevocable consent form
Can I get my NC provisional broker license if I live in another state?
Do I need to get a Salesperson license or broker license in NC?
Do I need to take the NC state exam if I am licensed in another state?
Does North Carolina offer reciprocity with other states?
North Carolina Real Estate License Renewal
What happens if my license expires while I am on military active duty?
How do I get my NC real estate license reinstated once it has expired?
6 month or less
More than 6 month and less than 2 years
More than 2 years
Is there a grace period for renewing my NC provisional broker license?
What is the cost of renewing my NC provisional broker license?
How do I renew my provisional broker license in North Carolina?
What is the education requirement for renewing my license in NC?
How often do I need to renew my NC real estate license?
RealEstateU NC Related Questions
Is the RealEstateU North Carolina pre-license course state approved?
Scheduling Your NC State Real Estate Licensing Exam
What information is needed when I schedule my NC real estate exam?
Can I miss or cancel appointment less than two days prior to my test?
How can I cancel and reschedule my test after making an appointment?
Can I get my NC real estate license if I am not a NC resident?
How long does it take to register and schedule my NC State exam?
Where can I take the North Carolina state licensing exam?
You can also call PSI Services at 800-733-9267 and get assistance in finding a testing center nearest you.
How do I schedule my state exam for an NC provisional broker license?
You will need to follow few steps in order to schedule your exam online.
How many questions are on the North Carolina pre-license exam?
Taking the NC State Licensing Exam
If I am a non-resident are there additional steps to schedule my exam?
If I fail my exam will I know what areas I need to focus for a retake?
I failed my NC state licensing exam. What do I do now?
How long will it take for the testing center to issue my test results?
Do I need to take the NC state exam if I’m licensed in another state?
How far ahead of time should I arrive for my NC exam appointment?
May I bring a calculator to my exam for a provisional broker license?
Can I bring a snack or bottle of water to my NC test?
What items may I take into my NC state licensing exam appointment?
What are considered acts of misconduct when taking the NC state exam?
What security procedures are there during the NC state examination?
Who do I contact if I have a question about the NC state exam?
May I take a pencil and paper into my NC state licensing exam?
How do I pay for the North Carolina state licensing exam?
What is the cost of the North Carolina state licensing exam?
How far in advance do I need to schedule my NC state licensing exam?
Who administers the state exam for a NC provisional broker license?
Can't find your answer?Get in touch