PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Pennsylvania Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Pennsylvania
  • About the 75-Hour Pennsylvania Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Pennsylvania Real Estate License
  • How to Get a Pennsylvania Real Estate License
  • Pennsylvania Criminal Record Check
  • Pennsylvania License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Pennsylvania Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Commission Prior Conviction Requirements
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Scheduling Your Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking The Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam

Pennsylvania Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Pennsylvania real estate license, Pennsylvania license qualifications and requirements, information about the Real Estate Commission prior conviction requirements, how to get a Pennsylvania real estate license, information about the 75-Hour Pennsylvania real estate license course, how to schedule your Pennsylvania real estate licensing exam, taking the Pennsylvania real estate licensing exam, Pennsylvania criminal record check, applying for a Pennsylvania real estate license, Pennsylvania real estate license renewal, real estate profession questions, and RealEstateU related questions.

About the 75-Hour Pennsylvania Real Estate License Course

What education is required to get a PA real estate license?

Before you can sit for the Pennsylvania real estate salespersons state licensing exam, you must complete the 75-hour pre-license course. The Commission may waive their education requirement if you hold a bachelor's degree in real estate or a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school.

How many hours of education is required to get a PA license?

You must complete 75 hours of pre-license real estate education by an approved education provider in order to qualify to take the Pennsylvania state licensing exam.

What courses am I required to take to get a PA real estate license?

The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires you to complete the 75-hour pre-license course before you can take the state licensing exam. The 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course actually consists of two separate courses: 1) 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals 2) 45-hour Real Estate Practice​

How can I take the 75-hour PA real estate license course?

You can take the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course online or in a classroom. Most students prefer to take the course online since it is typically less expensive and may be completed more quickly. If you take the course in a classroom setting, you must do so according to the school's preset schedule.

How many times can I take the PA pre-license course final exam?

You can take the pre-license course final exam as many times as needed until you pass. This applies to both the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course and the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course.

Is the PA pre-license course final exam proctored?

Yes, the Real Estate Commission requires that the final exam for the Pennsylvania pre-license course be proctored. ​This applies to the final exam for both the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course and the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course.

How many questions are on the PA pre-license course final exam?

​The final exam for the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course and the 45-hour Real Estate Practice consists of at least 60 multiple-choice questions each. The 60 final exam questions are randomly drawn from a question bank of 180 questions.

Can I take the 75-hour PA real estate license course online?

Yes! You can certainly take the 75-hour Pennsylvania real estate salespersons course online. In fact, most students prefer the online format compared to a classroom setting. ​Online courses allow you to complete the course according to your own schedule.

Can I take the PA pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

Yes, you are allowed to take (and complete) the 75-hour Pennsylvania real estate salespersons course while you are still in high school. The Real Estate Commission only requires you to be at least 18 years old and hold a high school diploma (or an equivalent diploma) by the time you apply for your real estate license.​

Can I take the PA pre-license course with more than one school?

Yes, you may take the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course with more than one school.

Can I use college credits towards the PA pre-license course?

You cannot use college credits towards the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course; however, the Real Estate Commission may waive​ their education requirement if you hold a bachelor's degree with a major in real estate or a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school.

Do I have to take the PA pre-license course if I have a law degree?

​No, the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission will waive their 75-hour pre-license education requirement if you hold a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school.

How do I receive my Certificate of Completion for the PA course?

As soon as you complete the final exam for either the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course or the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course, your Certificate of Completion will automatically appear in your RealEstateU account.

How long are my Certificates of Completion valid for?

You have 5 years to pass the state exam after completing the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course.

Applying For a Pennsylvania Real Estate License

Can I get a PA real estate license if I don't work for broker?

No, you must have an employing broker in order to submit your license application and ultimately obtain your real estate license.​

How long does it take to process my PA license application?

​The Commission needs approximately one week to perform an initial review of your application. At the end of one week, the Commission will notify you if any missing documents are required for licensure. If no additional information is needed, the Commission will approve your application and issue you your license.

When should I file my PA license application?

​You can only apply for your Pennsylvania real estate license after you have passed the state licensing exam. However, before you apply for your license online using the PALS system, you should have all of the required documents in place in order to prevent any delays in the review process.

How much is the PA real estate license application?

The Pennsylvania real estate license application fee is $97, plus a $10 real estate recovery fund fee if you never held another Pennsylvania real estate license. Application fees are non-refundable and payable using a credit card.

How do I apply for my PA real estate salespersons license?

​You can apply for your Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license online using the state's PALS system.

What are the requirements to apply for a PA real estate license?

​In order to be eligible to apply for a Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license, you: 1) Be at least 18 years old 2) Have a High School diploma, or equivalent diploma (GED) 3) Complete the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course 4) Pass the Pennsylvania state licensing exam 5) Complete a criminal record check

How to Get a Pennsylvania Real Estate License

How can I get my PA license if I'm licensed in another State?

If you are licensed in a state that offers reciprocity with PA, you can simply apply for your PA license. If you are licensed in a state that does not offer reciprocity with PA, the Commission may still waive the 75-hour pre-license education requirement and the national portion of the state exam.

Does Pennsylvania offer reciprocity with other states?

​Yes, Pennsylvania offers reciprocity with the following six states: Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, and New York

What tests do I need to take to get my PA real estate license?

​There are two tests you need to take in order to obtain your Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license. First, you must pass the school's proctored final exams (two final exams in total), and second, you must pass the state exam.

How long does it take to get my PA real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of the time-frame it will take to obtain your PA real estate salesperson's license:​ 1) Complete the 75-hour PA pre-license course: 2 weeks 2)Pass the state exam: 2 weeks 3)Submit your license application online with the help of your sponsoring broker: 2 weeks, Total Time-frame: 6 weeks

How much does it cost to get a PA real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of the costs associated with obtaining a Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license: 1) 75-hour pre-license course: $99 2) School's proctored final exam: $30 3) State Exam: $49 4) Criminal Record Check: $22 5) Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson's License Application: $107 Total Cost: $307

How do I get my PA real estate salespersons license?

Here are the steps you need to take to obtain your PA real estate salespersons license. Step 1: complete the 75-hour pre-license course. Step 2: Schedule and pass the state exam. Step 3: Complete a criminal record check. Step 4: Submit your license application online with the help of your employing broker.

Pennsylvania Criminal Record Check

How long does it take to receive my criminal record check?

​If you do not have a criminal record on file, you will receive a 'Certification Form' from the PATCH website after you have completed your criminal record check request. If you do have a criminal record on file, your request may need to be reviewed, which can take up to 3 weeks.

How much does it cost to get my criminal record check?

​If you obtain your criminal record check through the PATCH website, there is a standard fee of $22, paid via credit card.

When should I complete my criminal record check?

Your criminal record check cannot be older than 90 days from the date the Commission receives your license application. For this reason, we recommend that you obtain your criminal record check after you pass the Pennsylvania state licensing exam and before you submit your license application.

How do I get a criminal record check?

​If you are a Pennsylvania resident, you can obtain your criminal record check through the state police's PATCH website. If you are not a resident of Pennsylvania, you must get your criminal record check completed by the State Police in your state.

Why do I have to get a criminal record check?

​The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires each applicant for licensure to have a criminal record check completed. The Commission will use your criminal record check to see if you have any prior convictions or criminal activity.

Pennsylvania License Qualifications / Requirements

How old do I have to be to get a PA real estate license?

According to Section 521 of the Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act, you must be at least 18 years old to apply for a Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license.​

Do I need a high school diploma to get my PA real estate license?

Yes. According to Section 521 of the Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act, an applicant for a real estate salesperson's license must be a high school graduate or provide proof to the Commission that he or she completed an education equivalent to high school (GED).

Can I get my PA real estate license if I'm not a PA resident?

Yes, you are not required to be a resident of Pennsylvania in order to obtain a Pennsylvania real estate license. However, your sponsoring broker must hold a Pennsylvania broker's license. You will also have to obtain a criminal record check from your local State Police Department.

Pennsylvania Real Estate License Renewal

How will I be notified of my upcoming license renewal date?

​The Real Estate Commission will email you a renewal notice two to three months prior to the license expiration date. The notice will be sent to the email address you have on file with the PALS website.

Can the Pennsylvania CE requirements be waived?

​The Commission may waive the 14-hour CE requirement if you were unable to fulfill the requirement because of illness, emergency, or hardship. In addition, the Commission may waive the requirement if you obtained your real estate license or had your license reactivated within 6 months of the biennial renewal date.

What are the CE requirements for an inactive PA license?

​If your license is inactive, you must complete 14 hours of CE before you can reactivate your license. The 14 hours of CE must have been completed within 2 years of applying to reactive your license. Once your license has been reactivated, you then have to complete another 14 hours of CE to renew your license.

What happens if my license has been inactive for more than 5 years?

If your PA license has been inactive for at least 5 years, you must complete the following in order to reactive your license: 1) Complete a Request for a Certificate of Exam Eligibility form. 2) Pass the state licensing exam. 3) Complete 14 hours of required CE. 4) Apply to reactivate your license through PALS.

What happens if I do not renew my PA license on-time?

If you do not renew your Pennsylvania real estate license by May 31st on each even calendar year, your license will be ​considered 'inactive' and you will not be allowed to continue practicing as a real estate salesperson.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in PA?

If you are renewing your PA license for the first time, you must complete 14 hours of continuing education, which consists of a specific set of CE modules. First-time renewal continuing education courses consist of a 7-hour General Module, plus either a 7-hour Commercial Module or a 7-hour Residential Module.

What are the continuing education requirements in PA?

​Pennsylvania real estate licensees are required to complete 14 hours of Commission approved continuing education during each biennial renewal period. The 14 hours of continuing education must be completed by May 31st on each even calendar year.

When do I have to renew my PA real estate license?

Pennsylvania real estate licenses must be renewed by May 31st on each even calendar year.​ Please note that the Real Estate Commission does not offer a grace period for renewals. If you fail to renew your license by the renewal date, your license will be considered 'inactive'.

How much does it cost to renew my PA real estate license?

There is a $96 renewal fee to renew your Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson's license. The renewal fee can be paid using your credit card upon submitting your renewal application through the PALS website.

How do I renew my Pennsylvania real estate license?

​You can renew your Pennsylvania real estate license online using the PALS system. You will have to log into your PALS account to submit your renewal application and pay the required fee. You must renew your license on or before May 31st of each even year.

Real Estate Commission Prior Conviction Requirements

How should I proceed if I have a prior conviction?

You may still obtain a Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license if you have a prior conviction; however, you must disclose any past criminal activity with your license application, and submit the required documentation.

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Commission?

You must disclose any prior criminal activity to the Commission when it comes time to submit your license application. You must also include the required supporting documentation​ before the Commission will review your case.

What documents should I submit if I have a prior conviction?

​If you have ever been convicted of a crime, you must submit the following with your application: conviction summary, certified court documents, probation officer letter, police incident reports, resume, description of conviction, reference letter from employing broker, and two character reference letters.

Can the Commission pre-review my license application?

Unfortunately, the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission does not pre-review applications to determine if you will qualify for a license based on past criminal activity.

Can I get my PA license if I have a prior conviction?

​Yes, you can still obtain a PA real estate salesperson's license if you have a prior conviction. However, there is still a chance that your application may be delayed or denied by the Commission. You must submit the required documents along with your license application before the Commission will review your case.

Real Estate Profession Questions

What can I do with my Pennsylvania real estate license?

​As a PA real estate salesperson, you may perform the following duties: 1) perform a CMA 2) buy or sell real estate. 3) negotiate a loan on real estate. 4) lease or rent real estate. 5) collect rent on behalf of an owner.

RealEstateU Questions

Is the RealEstateU PA pre-license course state approved?

Yes! The RealEstateU 75-hour online Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson course package is fully approved by both the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission and Arello. Education Provider Approval #: RU003293​. RE Fundamentals Approval #: CR009393. RE Practice Approval #: CR009394.

Scheduling Your Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam

Does my PA state licensing exam application expire?

Yes, PSI requires students to take the Pennsylvania licensing exam within one year of the date their Exam Registration Form was received. Otherwise, the student will have to re-submit the Examination Registration Form and re-pay the $49 examination fee.

How do I change or cancel my PA state exam date?

You can cancel or reschedule your PA state licensing exam date by calling PSI at (800)733-9267, or online at www.psiexams.com. PSI will allow you to cancel or reschedule your PA state licensing exam, without forfeiting your $49 exam fee, if you give them at least two days notice prior to your exam date.​

Can I take my PA state exam if I don't have an employing broker?

Yes, you are allowed to schedule and take the state licensing exam without an employing broker. The Real Estate Commission only requires you to have an employing broker when it comes time to apply for your Pennsylvania real estate license.​

Do I need to take the PA state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

If you are already licensed in another state, the Commission may waive the requirement to take the state licensing exam, or you may only have to take the state portion of the exam. If you apply for reciprocity, you do not have to take the state exam, otherwise, the Commission may waive the national portion of the exam.

Will my school notify the state that I have completed my courses?

No, your real estate school does not notify the Real Estate Commission that you have completed the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course. Instead, the Commission requires the student to submit copies of their two Certificates of Completion, which is used to verify that you have completed their required education.

How does the state know that I have completed my pre-license courses?

As part of your license application, you must submit copies of your two Certificates of Completion to the Commission.​ The Commission will use your Certificates as evidence that you have completed the 75-hour pre-license education requirement.

Can I take the PA state licensing exam outside of PA?

​Yes, you may take the Pennsylvania state licensing exam at any of the PSI regional examination centers throughout the U.S.. To schedule your exam at one of these locations, you must follow the instructions on the out-of-state request form. Please consult that PSI Candidate Handbook for more information.

Where can I take the PA state licensing exam?

​The Pennsylvania state licensing exam is a proctored exam that must be taken at one of the PSI examination centers. There are 10 PSI exam sites located within Pennsylvania. Please have a look at pages 3 & 4 of the PSI Candidate Handbook for the specific address of each exam center.

How do I pay for the PA state licensing exam?

The Pennsylvania state licensing exam fee is $49 and can be paid using a credit card, money order, company check or cashier's check. You must submit the $49 payment along with your Examination Registration Form to PSI.

How much does the PA state licensing exam cost?

The Pennsylvania state licensing exam costs $49 per attempt.

How do I register for the PA real estate licensing exam?

Here are the steps to schedule your PA state exam: 1) Complete the 75-hour pre-license course 2) Submit your Exam Registration Form 3) Receive your eligibility notice from PSI 4) Schedule the date, time and location of your exam with PSI.

Taking The Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam

How much does it cost to reschedule my PA state exam?

PSI charges $49 to retake the state exam, regardless if you are only taking the state portion, the national portion, or both portions.​

How soon after my state exam do I have to apply for my license?

​Your state licensing exam scores are valid for up to 3 years. This means you have 3 years to apply for your Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license from the date you passed the state exam. If you fail to apply for your license within the 3-year time-frame, you must retake the state exam.

What are the exam policies at the PSI testing center?

You are only allowed to take approved items into the PSI exam room. All personal belongings must be placed in a secure storage provided by PSI, prior to entering into the exam room. Copying or communicating exam content is considered a violation and may result in the disqualification of your exam results.​

Are there any testing accommodations available for the PA state exam?

All PSI testing centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the ADA. If you have a disability or have difficulty taking the examination, you can submit an exam accommodation request to PSI. You must also submit documentation from the medical authority or learning institution that rendered a diagnosis.

What am I required to bring with me to the PA state exam?

​You must bring two forms of identification with you to the PSI testing center. One must be a valid government-issued ID. The second must include your signature and pre-printed legal name. The name on your IDs must match the name you entered on the Examination Registration Form and Registration Confirmation Notice.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the PA state exam?

​Calculators will not be provided by PSI. You are allowed to bring a calculator to the exam; however, only non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing capabilities, and do not have a keyboard will be allowed in the exam room.

What happens if I fail the PA state licensing exam?

​If you do not pass the PA state licensing exam, you must reschedule another attempt with PSI. You can take the state exam as many times as needed until you pass. You have the option to reschedule your exam with PSI online, by mail, fax, email, or phone.

How many times can I take the PA state exam?

You can take the Pennsylvania real estate salesperson state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to reschedule a new exam attempt and pay the $49 exam fee.

I just passed my PA real estate exam, now what?

​Once you pass the PA state exam, you are now ready to apply for your license. You must complete the following: 1) Obtain a criminal record check 2) Submit your license application online 3) Pay the application fee and upload the required documents 4) Have your broker complete their portion of the application

How long does it take to get my PA state exam results?

​You will receive your score at the PSI testing center as soon as you complete the exam. If you pass the exam, you will immediately receive a successful notification. If you do not pass, you will immediately receive an unsuccessful notification on the screen.

What is the time limit for the PA state licensing exam?

There is a 120-minute time limit for the national portion of the Pennsylvania licensing exam (80 questions total), and a 60-minute time limit for the state portion (30 questions total).​ The total exam is 180-minutes or 3-hours.

What is included on the PA real estate licensing exam?

There are 11 content areas covered in the national portion of the state exam, and 3 content areas covered in the state portion. Please see pages 7-10 of the PSI Candidate Handbook for a detailed outline of the topics you need to know for the exam.

How many questions are on the PA state licensing exam?

​The Pennsylvania real estate salesperson licensing exam consists of a national portion and a state portion. You must answer at least 60 out of the 80 questions correctly on the national portion in order to pass, and at least 23 out of the 30 questions correctly on the state portion.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Pennsylvania
  • About the 75-Hour Pennsylvania Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Pennsylvania Real Estate License
  • How to Get a Pennsylvania Real Estate License
  • Pennsylvania Criminal Record Check
  • Pennsylvania License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Pennsylvania Real Estate License Renewal
  • Real Estate Commission Prior Conviction Requirements
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Scheduling Your Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking The Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE