PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQs - Support

Get answers to common questions

Login & Course Navigation

How to log in my account?

To log in please use the following link: CLICK HERE. Then enter in your email (username) and password you signed up with and/or was sent to you. If you forgot your password, please click on the “Forgot Password?” link and follow the instructions.

How to Navigate the Course on a Mobile Device?

The course is divided into Chapters, which are further broken down into Lessons.

How to check the quiz answers?

For most courses when you complete an Activity (quiz) or a Chapter quiz you are provided with the answers. When you review your answers make sure that you carefully read the questions as well as the answer options as they will NOT be displayed in the order you saw them when taking the quiz initially.

New York License

Is the NYS Licensing course approved by the State?

The RealEstateU NYS Real Estate Salesperson course and Continuing Education course are fully approved by both the NYS Department of State and Arello.

NYS Final Exam Reservation

The Final Exam is part of the online course and is included at the end of the course. You can see it in the Lessons sequence at the very end. It is titled FINAL EXAM. However, the final exam is password protected.

How to obtain my NYS real estate license?

In order to obtain your NYS real estate salesperson license, you will have to complete the following 4 steps...

Video & Audio

My videos have no audio

If you do not have any audio for your videos please first make sure the audio is not muted on your computer.

Videos are not playing

If you see that the videos are not playing on your current device then please ensure that your operating system and browsers are ALL up to date! Also please make sure you have a robust and consistent internet / wifi connection.

Groupon & Living Social

How to redeem voucher and activate your account?

Depending if you purchased your course from Groupon or LivingSocial please find the instructions on how to submit your information in the instructions below. Once we receive your information we will redeem your voucher and manually activate your account.

How to find the Groupon voucher?

Please find the instructions on how to find your Groupon voucher here

California

How do I get my California real estate salespersons license?

In order to obtain your California real estate salespersons license, you will have to complete the following steps: 1) Complete the 135-hour pre-license courses. 2) Apply for the State exam. 3) Pass the State exam. 4) Get fingerprinted. 5) Submit your salesperson license application.

Is the RealEstateU CA pre-license course approved by the DRE?

Yes! RealEstateU's 135-hour online California real estate salesperson licensing courses are fully approved by the California Department of Real Estate.

What are the requirements to apply for a CA real estate license?

In order to apply for a California real estate license, you must satisfy the DRE's general and course requirements, and pass the state licensing exam. Once you complete all of these requirements, the DRE will send you a license application.

How do I get my fingerprints taken if I'm not a CA resident?

If you live outside of California, the DRE will send you a fingerprint card along with your license application. You must use the fingerprint card to get your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency. You will then mail the fingerprint card back to the DRE, along with your license application.

How much does it cost to get my fingerprints taken?

​The California Department of Real Estate (DRE) charges a $49 non-refundable fingerprint processing fee. You must get your fingerprints taken at a local Live Scan office, which charges an additional fee. The Live Scan fee varies per location.

Where can I find my local Live Scan office?

​The California Department of Justice website publishes a list of Live Scan fingerprinting locations. You first have to select your County, after which you will see a list of all Live Scan locations in that County.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in California?

You must have your fingerprints taken at a local Live Scan service provider. You will have to complete a Live Scan Service Request form, schedule your fingerprints with a local Live Scan provider, get your fingerprints taken at the Live Scan office, and submit a copy of the Live Scan Service Request form to the DRE.

Why do I have to get my fingerprints taken?

​Your fingerprints will be electronically sent to the California DOJ and the FBI. Both the DOJ and FBI will run a criminal background check and report their findings to the California Department of Real Estate. The DRE will use the criminal background check to verify that you meet their qualifications for "honesty".

What does the DRE do with my fingerprints?

The DRE requires all applicants to disclose any prior criminal activity on their license application. The DOJ and the FBI use your fingerprints to run a criminal background check. Their findings are sent to the DRE, where it is cross-checked with the criminal activity disclosed on your license application (if any).

When do I have to get my fingerprints taken?

Most applicants get their fingerprints taken after they pass the State exam and before they submit their license application. However, you can still get your fingerprints taken before the State exam by requesting a blank fingerprint card from the DRE.

Can I get my CA license if I have a prior conviction?

Yes, you still may be able to obtain a real estate license if you have a prior conviction. It's important to note that you must disclose all past and pending criminal activity to the DRE as part of your license application. If you fail to do so, your application will most likely be denied.

Can I get my CA license if I have a felony?

​Yes, it is still possible to obtain a California real estate license if you have a felony; however, the DRE must evaluate your specific case and determine your eligibility.

What criminal activity may lead to a denial of my license application?

The following are several convictions that will disqualify you from obtaining a license: Assault with intent to commit rape, bribery, burglary, embezzlement, extortion, forgery, fraud, grand theft, murder, perjury, petty theft, possession of drugs for sale or transport, and tax evasion.

What should I do if I have a prior conviction?

You must disclose any past or pending criminal activity to the DRE as part of your license application. That being said, you may still obtain a real estate license if you have a prior conviction. The DRE will review your specific case and determine if you are eligible to receive a real estate license.​

What criminal activity would disqualify me from getting a license?

The following are several convictions that will disqualify you from obtaining a license: Assault with intent to commit rape, bribery, burglary, embezzlement, extortion, forgery, fraud, grand theft, murder, perjury, petty theft, possession of drugs for sale or transport, and tax evasion.

What does the DRE consider a conviction?

According to the DRE, a "conviction" includes a verdict of guilty by a judge or jury, a plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere (no contest), or a forfeiture of bail in the courts (including military courts) of any state or country.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity?

You must disclose any prior criminal convictions or pending criminal charges on your license application. If you fail to do so, you risk having your license application denied by the DRE.​

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity?

You should disclose any past criminal convictions or pending criminal charges on your License Application. You must fully disclose all criminal activities. The DRE will use the background reports generated by the California DOJ and the FBI to verify that you have fully disclosed all criminal activity.

How old do I have to be to get a CA real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years of age or older to obtain a California real estate license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my CA real estate license?

No, you are not required to have a high school diploma or GED to obtain a California real estate license. The Department of Real Estate only requires you to be at least 18 years old when it comes time to apply for your real estate license.

Can I get my CA real estate license if I'm not a CA resident?

​Yes, you are not required to be a California resident to obtain a California real estate license. As an out-of-state resident, you will have to complete a Consent to Service of Process form, and get your fingerprints taken with your local law enforcement agency.

How much does it cost to get my CA real estate license?

There are four fees you have to pay to obtain your California real estate license: 1) 135-hour pre-license course: $99 2) State exam fee: $60 3) Fingerprint fee: $49 4) License application fee: $245 Total Fees: $453

How long does it take to get my CA real estate license?

It takes a minimum of 15-1/2 - 19-1/2 weeks to obtain your California real estate license: Step 1: Complete the required 3, 45-hour pre-license courses - 7-1/2 weeks. Step 2: Apply to take the state exam - 6-8 weeks. Step 3: Apply for your real estate license - 2-4 weeks.

What tests do I need to take to get my CA real estate license?

In order to obtain a California real estate salespersons license, you must pass the real estate school's final exams for each of the 3, 45-hour courses (3 final exams in total), and the state licensing exam.

Does California offer reciprocity with other states?

California does not offer reciprocity with any other state. Even if you are licensed in another state, you will have to go through the same licensing process​ as every other applicant.

How can I get my CA license if I'm licensed in another State?

California does not offer reciprocity with any other state. For this reason, you will have to go through the same licensing process as any other non-licensee.

What education is required to get a CA real estate license?

In order to qualify to take the state licensing exam and apply for your California real estate license, you must first complete three college-level courses. These courses include Real Estate Principles (45-hours), Real Estate Practice (45-hours), and one 45-hour elective course.

What courses am I required to take to get a CA real estate license?

You must complete the 45-hour Real Estate Principles course, 45-hour Real Estate Practice course, and one, 45-hour elective course in order to qualify to obtain your California real estate salespersons license.

How many hours of education is required to get a CA license?

You must complete a total of 135-hours of education in order to qualify to take the state licensing exam. The 135-hours are broken down into 3, 45-hour courses: Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and one elective course.

How can I take the 135-hour CA real estate license course?

You can take the required 135-hours of pre-licensing education online or in-person at a local school. Most students prefer to take the courses online since it gives them more flexibility and they can typically complete the courses in a shorter time frame.

Can I take the 135-hour CA real estate license course online?

Yes, you can certainly take the 135-hours of required education online. The DRE approves both online and in-person courses. Most students actually prefer to take the courses online, as it allows them to complete the courses at their own pace.

Can I take the CA pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

Yes, you are allowed to take (and complete) the 135-hours of required pre-license education while you are still in High School. The DRE only requires that you are at least 18 years old when it comes time to apply for your real estate license.

Can I take the CA pre-license course with more than one school?

Yes, you are allowed to complete the 3, 45-hour pre-license courses with more than one school. The DRE only requires that you submit your three Course Completion Certificates when it comes time to apply for the state licensing exam. The 3 Course Completion Certificates may be from more than one school.​

Can I use my law degree credits towards the pre-license course?

If you are admitted to the California ​State Bar, the DRE will waive the 135-hours of required pre-license education. If you hold a law degree but are not admitted to the California State Bar, you may use your law degree credits in place of the 45-hour elective course.

Can I use my college credits towards the CA pre-license course?

The DRE may allow you to use college credits towards the 45-hour elective course if the credits were earned as part of a real estate or law related course. However, you will still be required to complete the 45-hour Real Estate Principles and 45-hour Real Estate Practice courses.

What elective courses can I take as part of the pre-license course?

The 45-hour elective course may include one of the following: RE Appraisal, Property Management, RE Finance, RE Economics, Legal Aspects of RE, RE Office Administration, General Accounting, Business Law, Escrows, Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending, Computer Applications in Real Estate Common Interest Developments.

How many times can I take the pre-license course final exam?

You can take the school's final exam for any of the 3, 45-hour pre-license courses as many times as needed until you pass. There is no limit as to how many times you can take the school's final exam.​

Is the school's final exam open book?

Yes, the final exam for any of the 3, 45-hour pre-license courses is open book. You can use any textbooks or other resources when taking the final exam.

How soon can I finish the 135-hour CA pre-license course?

The Real Estate Law requires that a student cannot complete any 45-hour pre-license course within 2-1/2 weeks.​ Since an applicant is required to complete 3, 45-hour pre-license courses, you cannot complete all three courses (135 hours in total) within 7-1/2 weeks from the date of enrollment.

Is the school's final exam proctored?

No, the final exams for each of the required 45-hour pre-license courses are not proctored. If you take the course online, you can also take the final exam from the comfort of your own home.

How many questions are on the pre-license course final exam?

The Real Estate Law requires the final exam for each 45-hour pre-license course to include a minimum of 100 questions.

How do I receive my Course Completion Certificate?

As soon as you pass the course final exam, your Course Completion Certificate will be available within your RealEstateU account. You can print the Certificate or save as a PDF. You will eventually have to submit a copy of each Certificate to the DRE as part of your state exam application.

How do I register for the CA real estate licensing exam?

To schedule your state exam, you will have to mail the DRE a completed exam application, pay the appropriate fee, include copies of your course Certificates, and include a reasonable accommodation request (if applicable). Once the DRE approves your application, you will receive an Examination Schedule Notice.

How much does the CA real estate exam cost?

The California Salesperson Examination fee is $60. You can see a full breakdown of all costs here.​

How do I pay for the CA state licensing exam?

You can pay the $60 exam fee using a credit card, cashiers' check, money order, or check. Checks or money orders must be made payable to: Department of Real Estate. If you want to pay using a credit card, you must complete a Credit Card Payment Form.​

Where can I take the CA real estate licensing exam?

You can take the state licensing exam at one of five proctoring locations throughout the State of California. The five proctoring locations include the following: Fresno, San Diego, Los Angeles Vicinity, Oakland, and Sacramento.

How does the DRE know that I have completed my pre-licensing courses?

When it comes time to submit your state exam application, the DRE requires you to include copies of your three Course Completion Certificates (one for each of the 3, 45-hour pre-license courses). The DRE will use these Certificates as evidence that you have completed the 135-hour education requirement.

Will my school notify the DRE that I have completed my courses?

No, the school will not transmit any of your information to the DRE. Instead, the DRE requires the student to submit copies of their three Course Completion Certificates as part of their exam application. The DRE will use the Certificates as evidence that you have completed their education requirements.​

Do I need to take the State exam if I’m licensed in another state?

​Yes. Since California does not offer reciprocity with any other state, you will have to complete the licensing process just like any other applicant. You must complete the 135-hours of pre-license education and pass the state exam.

Can I take my CA state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you do not need a sponsoring broker to schedule and take the state licensing exam. You only need a sponsoring broker if you opt to submit a Combined Salesperson Exam/License Application​.

How do I change or cancel my CA state exam date?

You can change or cancel your exam date by using the eLicensing Online System​. You can also submit a Salesperson Exam Change Application.

How much does it cost to reschedule my CA state exam?

The DRE charges the following rescheduling fees for the state exam: First-time rescheduling fee: $15. Any additional rescheduling requests: $30 per request.

What is a Combined Salesperson Exam and License Application?

The Combined Salesperson Exam and License Application allows you to apply for your state exam and your real estate license at the same time. Once you pass the state licensing exam, the DRE will go ahead and issue your real estate license. This will allow you ​to save several weeks of time during the licensing process.

When should I file a Combined Exam and License Application?

​You should file the Combined Salesperson Exam and License Application after you have completed the 3, 45-hour pre-licensing courses. Please note that you can only file a Combined application if you have a sponsoring broker lined up by the time you are ready to take the state exam.

What is a Salesperson Exam Application?

​The Salesperson Examination Application is used to apply to take the state licensing exam. You should file the Salesperson Examination Application after you have completed the 3, 45-hour pre-licensing courses.

What is the DRE's time frame for processing my application?

​The DRE generally takes six weeks to process your exam application. You can click here to see the DRE's current application timeframes.

Does my state licensing exam application expire?

​You have two years to pass the state licensing exam from the date your exam application is received by the DRE. If you do not pass the state exam within two years, you must submit a new exam application and pay the exam fee again.

How many questions are on the CA real estate exam?

The California state real estate salespersons exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions with a time limit of 3 hours and 15-minutes.​ You must answer at least 70% (105 questions) of the questions correctly in order to pass the exam.

What is included on the CA real estate licensing exam?

The California state licensing exam tests the following seven topics: Property ownership and land use controls and regulations, Laws of agency and fiduciary duties, Property valuation and financial analysis, Financing, Transfer of property, Practice of real estate and disclosures, and Contracts.

How long does it take to get my CA state exam results?

If you took the state exam in an electronic format, ​you will receive your exam results right after you complete the exam. If you took the exam in a paper format, your results will be mailed to you within five business days after your exam date.

I just passed my CA real estate exam, now what?

If you previously submitted a Salesperson Examination Application to apply for the state exam, the DRE​ will mail you a Salesperson License Application to complete. If you previously submitted a Combined Exam/License Application, the DRE will issue you your real estate salespersons license.

How many times can I take the CA state exam?

There is no limit as to how many times you can take the state exam. You can take the state exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to reschedule your next exam attempt and pay the $60 exam fee.​

What happens if I fail the CA state licensing exam?

​If you did not pass the state licensing exam, you will have to apply to retake the exam and pay the $60 exam fee again. You have two years to pass the exam from the date your exam application is received by the DRE.

How do I retake the CA state exam if I previously failed?

You can only apply to retake the state exam after you have received notification that you failed the exam. ​You can apply to retake the state exam by using the eLicensing Online System. Or, you can mail in your Examination Result Notice form along with the $60 exam fee to the DRE.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the CA state exam?

No, you are not permitted to bring a calculator into the exam room. Instead, the testing center will provide you with a basic calculator to use for the exam.

What am I required to bring with me to the CA state exam?

​In order to take the state exam, you must present a valid photo ID that has been issued within the past 5 years. If you do not have a valid photo ID, you will not be permitted to sit for the state exam.​

Are there any testing accommodations available for the state exam?

​Yes, the DRE can provide reasonable accommodations for applicants with disabilities. You must submit a Reasonable Accommodation Request for Examination form along with the required documentation.

What are the exam policies at the state exam testing center?

While taking the state exam, you must abide by the rules set forth by the Real Estate Commissioner. Cell phones are strictly prohibited in the exam room and cannot be used while out on a break. For security reasons, there are several items that are not permitted in the exam room.

How do I apply for my CA real estate salespersons license?

If you have a sponsoring broker, you can submit a Combined Exam/License Application when you apply for the state exam. This application includes your license application. If you submit a Salesperson Examination Application, the DRE will mail you a Salesperson License Application after you pass the state exam.

How do I submit my license application to the DRE?

​You must mail your license application back to the DRE at the following address: Department of Real Estate, P.O. Box 137001, Sacramento, CA 95813-7001. You cannot apply for your license using eLicensing. You also cannot fax your license application, as the DRE requires an original signature.

How much is the CA real estate license application?

The California real estate salespersons license application fee is $245.​ Acceptable payment methods include credit card, cashiers' check, money order, or check. The application fee is non-refundable.

When should I file my license application with the DRE?

​If you have a sponsoring broker, you can submit the Combined Exam/License Application right after you complete the 3, 45-hour pre-license courses. If you previously submitted a Salesperson Examination Application, the DRE will mail you a Salesperson License Application after you pass the state licensing exam.

How long does it take the DRE to process my license application?

​It takes the DRE several weeks to process your Salesperson License Application. The processing times vary depending on the volume of applications. You can see the current application processing time frames here: http://www.dre.ca.gov/Licensees/CurrentTimeframes.html

Can I get a CA real estate license if I don't work for broker?

If you do not have a sponsoring broker when you submit your license application, the DRE will send you an inactive real estate license once your license application is approved.​ If you have an inactive real estate license, you will not be able to perform any duties that require an active real estate license.

Can the DRE expedite my license application if I'm a Veteran?

​Honorably discharged Veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces are eligible for expedited processing. In order to receive an expedited processing time, you must submit a copy of your U.S. DD Form 214, NGB-22 form, or Honorable Discharge certificate to confirm your condition of discharge, along with your license application.

How long is my license application valid for?

If you submitted a Combined Exam/License Application, you have two years to pass the state licensing exam and submit the required documentation. If you​ received a Salesperson License Application from the DRE, you have one year from the date you passed the state exam to submit the completed application.

How do I renew my California real estate license?

​The DRE recommends that you submit your renewal application online using the eLicensing Online System. You also have the option of mailing in a completed Salesperson Renewal Application. You must submit a Continuing Education Course Verification form and pay the required renewal fee.

How much does it cost to renew my CA real estate license?

​If you renew your license on-time, the renewal fee is $245. If you are late to renew your license (within 2 years after your license expiration date), the renewal fee is $367.

How often do I have to renew my CA real estate license?

A California real estate license must be renewed every four years.

What are the continuing education requirements in CA?

​For the second or subsequent renewal of your real estate license, you must complete 45-hours of CE consisting of: 1, 8-hour survey course covering the six mandatory subjects. A minimum of 18-hours of consumer protection courses. The remaining hours may be related to consumer service or consumer protection courses.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals?

First-time renewals must complete 45-hours of CE. This includes 5 separate 3-hour courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, and Risk Management; a minimum of 18-hours of consumer protection courses; and the remaining hours may be related to consumer service or consumer protection courses.

How soon can I renew my California real estate license?

​You can renew your California real estate salespersons license up to 90 days prior to the expiration date listed on your license. As a courtesy, the DRE will mail you a renewal reminder around 60 days prior to your license expiration date.

What happens if I do not renew my license on-time?

​If you fail to renew your real estate license on time, your license will be considered inactive and you will not be able to perform any activities requiring a real estate license. However, the DRE does allow you up to two years to renew your license after your license expiration date.

How long does it take the DRE to process my renewal application?

​It typically takes the DRE at least 6 weeks to process your renewal application. However, your license renewal will be considered on-time if your eLicensing renewal submission is completed, or your application is postmarked before midnight of your license expiration date.

What happens if my license is expired for more than 2 years?

​If you fail to renew your license within two years of your license expiration date, you will have to retake the state licensing exam and re-apply for a new real estate license.

Can I obtain my CA real estate license if I'm not a U.S. citizen?

Yes, you may still obtain a California real estate salespersons license if you are a "qualified alien". See section 2718. Legal Presence Requirements of the Regulations of the Real Estate Commissioner for a more detailed definition of a qualified alien.

How do I select my state exam date and location?

​If you wish to schedule your state exam location and date yourself, you must select 'Yes' under section #11 of the Salesperson Examination Application, or section #14 of the Combined Exam/License Application. The DRE will then notify you via email when you are qualified to schedule your state exam using eLicensing.

What can I do with my California real estate license?

​Once you obtain a California real estate salespersons license, you can perform all of the duties of a licensed real estate broker. This includes the sale or lease of residential, commercial, and industrial properties throughout California. You can also represent buyers or tenants looking to buy or lease.

When is a real estate license required in California?

A real estate license is required if you represent a seller, buyer, landlord, and/or tenant in a real estate transaction and earn a commission in the process. Please note that a real estate license is not required if you want to sell, buy, or lease your own property.

Can I apply for a license if I'm behind on child support payments?

The DRE is not permitted to issue or renew a full-time license if you are on a list of persons who have not complied with a court order to provide child support payments. ​The DRE will issue a 150-day license, during which time you must be cleared from the Department of Child Support Services' list of obligors.

Texas

What are the age requirements to obtain a Texas real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a Texas real estate brokers or salespersons license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my Texas real estate license?

No, you do not need to have a high school diploma or GED to qualify for a Texas real estate license. The Texas Real Estate Commission only requires that you are at least 18 years old when it comes time to apply for your license.

Can I get a real estate license if I have student loans?

Yes, you can certainly obtain a Texas real estate salespersons license if you have student loans. TREC only wants to verify that you are not delinquent on any of your student loan payments. As long as you are up to date on your student loan payments, you shouldn’t have any issues.

Can I obtain my Texas real estate license if I'm not a U.S. citizen?

Yes, you can still obtain a Texas real estate license if you are a lawfully admitted alien.

How do I know if I am a lawfully admitted alien?

You are considered a lawfully admitted alien if you hold a Green card or a Permanent Resident card. A social security number is also required when completing your license application. If you hold any kind of visa, you should contact your immigration authorities and verify that you are lawfully in the U.S.

Can I get my TX real estate license if I'm not a TX resident?

Yes, you are not required to be a Texas resident to obtain a Texas real estate license. If you hold an active real estate license in another state, you will have to complete the same licensing process just like any other applicant; however, you may not have to take the national portion of the state exam.

Will I meet TREC's qualifications for honesty and trustworthiness?

It is difficult to know for certain as TREC does not clearly state what actions would lead to a denial of this qualification. TREC recommends that when in doubt, you should submit a Fitness Determination form, which will allow TREC to review the circumstances surrounding your specific case.

What criminal offenses will prevent me from getting a TX license?

Unfortunately, the TREC does not explicitly say what type of criminal offenses will prevent an applicant from meeting their requirement of “honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity”. TREC recommends that you submit a Fitness Determination form along with a Background History form prior to applying for a license.

What is a Fitness Determination?

Fitness Determination is when the Texas Real Estate Commission determines if an applicant meets the qualification for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity. In other words, it’s TRECs way of determining if an applicant’s moral character is acceptable to obtain a real estate license.

What is a Fitness Determination form and when should it be used?

​A Fitness Determination form should be used if you have any prior criminal offenses, unpaid judgments, had any discipline taken against a professional or occupational license you held/hold, or have performed any duties of a licensee while not properly licensed.

How much does it cost to get my Texas real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of the fees involved in getting your Texas real estate salespersons license: 180-hour Texas pre-license course: $165 Proctoring fees: $90, License Application Fee: $205, Fingerprint Fee: $38.25, State Exam Fee: $54, TREC Broker Sponsorship Request form: $10, Total Fees: $562.25

How long does it take to get my Texas real estate license?

You will receive your license from TREC within 5-10 business days of passing the State exam, provided the following requirements have been met: Your license application has been filed with TREC, you have cleared your background check, and TREC has received and filed your 6 Course Completion Certificates.

When should I request a Fitness Determination?

If you have any past criminal offenses, unpaid judgments, had discipline taken against a professional or occupational license you hold/held, or have performed duties of a licensee while not properly licensed, you should submit a Fitness Determination form to TREC.

What is a Background History form and when should it be used?

A Background History form is used in conjunction with a Fitness Determination form. The Background History form is used to provide more in-depth information regarding a past offense that should be disclosed to the Texas Real Estate Commission.

Can I get my Texas real estate license if I have a prior conviction?

Yes, you can still obtain a Texas real estate salespersons license if you have a prior conviction. TREC recommends that you submit a Fitness Determination form prior to applying for a real estate license. This will allow TREC to review the circumstances surrounding your case.

How will I be notified of TREC's decision on my Fitness Determination?

If you provided an email address on your Fitness Determination form, TREC will email you their decision. Otherwise, TREC will send you their decision via mail.

What should I do if my Fitness Determination is approved?

If TREC approves your Fitness Determination, you can then proceed with the 180-hour Texas pre-license course and your license application. When submitting your license application, you should include your Fitness Determination letter.

What should I do if my Fitness Determination is not approved?

If your Fitness Determination is not approved, your only available option is to resubmit a new FD with additional supporting documentation. If you do not have any additional supporting documentation to submit a new FD form, unfortunately, you will not be able to apply for a Texas real estate license.

What tests do I need to take to get my Texas real estate license?

There are two sets of tests you must take in order to get your Texas real estate salespersons license. First, you must pass the final exams for each of the 6, 30-hour pre-license courses. Once you pass the school’s 6 final exams, you can then sit for the State exam.

Does Texas offer reciprocity with other states?

Unfortunately, Texas does not offer reciprocity with any other state.

How can I get my Texas license if I'm licensed in another State?

Texas does not offer reciprocity with any other state. For that reason, you will still be required to complete the 180-hour pre-license course, submit a Texas license application, get fingerprinted, and pass the state exam.

What education is required to get a Texas real estate license?

In order to sit for the state licensing exam, you must complete 180 hours of pre-license education. The 180-hour qualifying education requirement is broken down into 6, 30-hour courses.

How can I take the 180-hour Texas real estate license course?

The Texas 180-hour real estate salespersons course can be taken online or in-person. Most students prefer to take the course online. The online course format gives the student much more flexibility. If you take the course in-person, you must do so according to the school’s schedule.

Can I take the 180-hour Texas real estate license course online?

Yes, you are allowed to complete the 180-hour Texas real estate salespersons course online. In fact, most students prefer taking the course online as compared to in-person classes. The online course format is faster and it allows the student to complete the course on their own time.

Can I take the Texas pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

Yes, you are allowed to take the 180-hour Texas real estate salespersons course while you are still in High School. The Texas Real Estate Commission only requires that you are at least 18 years old when you submit your license application.

How many times can I take the course final exam?

The Texas Real Estate Commission only allows up to 2 attempts at each final exam. If you do not pass the course final exam on the second attempt, you must retake the entire 30-hour course before being able to retake the final exam.

Can I take the Texas pre-license course with more than one school?

Yes, you do not have to complete all 6, 30-hour courses with one school. Once you complete any of the 30-hour pre-license courses, you will receive a Certificate of Completion for that course. When it comes time to submit your license application, you must include copies of all 6 Certificates.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the pre-license course?

Unfortunately, TREC will not accept college credits to be used towards the 180-hour pre-license education requirement. This includes college credits earned as part of a law degree. You must complete a TREC approved 180-hour pre-license course.

Can I use my college credits towards the Texas pre-license course?

TREC does not accept college credits to be used towards the 180-hour pre-license education requirement. Instead, you must take a TREC approved 180-hour pre-license course.

How do I apply for my Texas real estate salespersons license?

You have the option to submit your Texas real estate agent application online or by mail. The first step is to submit an inactive license application. The preferred method is online since the processing time will be quicker and you only have to pay the standard application fee.

How do I submit my license application online with TREC?

You must submit your license application online using TREC’s Online Licensing Service. You will first need to create a free account. You will then follow the steps to submit your license application and pay the required $205 fee.

How much is the Texas real estate license application?

If you submit your license application online using TREC’s Online Licensing Service, the application fee is $205. If you opt to mail in a paper application, TREC charges a $20 paper filing fee on top of the regular $205 application fee. The total paper application fee is $225.

When do I file my license application with TREC?

You can file your real estate license application at any time. We recommend that you wait until you are close to completing the 180-hour pre-license course to submit your license application. This will give you 12 months to complete the course, and fulfill the remaining requirements.

Should I file my license application with TREC online or via mail?

TREC recommends that you file your license application online using their Online Licensing Service. Online applications are processed faster and are not subject to a $20 paper filing fee.

How do I file my license application via mail?

If you opt to file a paper license application, you must complete the Inactive Real Estate Sales Agent License form and mail it to TREC. This is a simple 2-page form. Paper applications are subject to a $20 paper filing fee, in addition to the standard $205 license application fee.

How long does it take TREC to process my license application?

It typically takes TREC a few weeks to process your license application. However, the exact time-frame varies, depending on the time of the month.

How can I see my license application status?

You can use TREC’s Application Status Tracker to track the progress of your license application.

Does my TREC license application expire after I submit it?

License applications are active for 12 months. If you do not complete the license application requirements within 12 months, you must resubmit a new license application and pay the required fee again.

How will I know that TREC received my Certificates?

TREC will send you a confirmation email within 1-2 business days of receiving your Certificates.

Can I get a Texas real estate license if I don't work for broker?

Yes, you can still obtain an inactive real estate license; however, you will not be able to perform any real estate related activities until you obtain an active license.

Why do I have to get my fingerprints taken?

According to section 1101.3521 of the Texas Real Estate License Act, anyone applying for a Texas real estate license must be fingerprinted and pass a background check. This helps ensure candidates meet TREC’s qualifications for “honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity”.

How do I get my fingerprints taken?

You must schedule a fingerprint appointment at any MorphoTrust location in the State of Texas. You can make a fingerprint reservation by calling (888)467-2080, or through TREC’s website. You should make your reservation at least 24 hours in advance.

Why is a background check needed to get a Texas real estate license?

All license applicants must meet TREC’s qualifications for “honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity”. TREC performs a background check to verify that you meet their requirements.

How do I get my background check done?

Your background check will be performed by TREC after your fingerprints are taken. Once your fingerprints are taken at a MorphoTrust location, they are electronically transmitted to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the FBI for a criminal history check.

How do I register for the Texas real estate licensing exam?

The Texas state real estate exam must be taken through Pearson VUE. You can register for the state exam through Pearson VUE's website or by phone by calling (800)997-1248.

How much does the Texas real estate exam cost?

The State licensing exam costs $54 per attempt. The exam fee is paid directly to Pearson VUE by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Please note that all exam fees are non-refundable.

How do I pay for the State licensing exam?

The state licensing exam costs $54 per attempt, which is paid directly to Pearson VUE. You can pay the exam fee by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check.

Where can I take the Texas real estate licensing exam?

The Texas licensing exam must be taken at a Pearson VUE testing center. There are over 28 testing centers throughout the state of Texas. You can see a full list of all available testing centers on the last page of the Texas Candidate Handbook.

What is an eligibility letter from TREC?

Once all of the license application requirements are met, TREC will send you an eligibility letter, which includes your TREC ID number and instructions on how to register for the state exam. The eligibility letter is essentially your “green light” to take the state exam.

What do I do with my eligibility letter from TREC?

You should hold onto your eligibility letter. The eligibility letter includes your TREC ID number. You will need to use the eligibility letter when you get your fingerprints taken at the MorphoTrust center, and when you schedule your state exam.

What happens if I lose my eligibility letter?

You should first contact TREC and ask if they will resend the eligibility letter. If for some reason TREC cannot resend the letter, you have the option to submit a Public Information Request form. The Public Information Request form must be submitted by mail, in-person, email, or fax.

What is my TREC ID number?

Your TREC ID number is included on the eligibility letter you will receive from TREC after you complete the 180-hour pre-license course and submit your license application. You will need to use your TREC ID number when you get your fingerprints taken and when you register for the state licensing exam.

How does TREC know that I have completed my pre-licensing courses?

As part of your license application, you must include copies of your 6 Course Completion Certificates. TREC will use these certificates as evidence that you have completed the 180-hour qualifying education requirement.

Does the school notify TREC that I have completed my license course?

The school will not notify TREC that you have completed the 180 hours of qualifying education. Instead, TREC requires the student to submit copies of their 6 Course Completion Certificates (1 for each 30-hour course) as part of their license application.

Do I need to take the State exam if I’m licensed in another state?

If you hold an active real estate license in another state, and you have passed the national portion of the exam in that state, the Texas Real Estate Commission may waive the national portion of the Texas real estate licensing exam. You will only be required to take the state law portion of the exam.

Can I take my Texas state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you do not need a sponsoring broker to take the state licensing exam. Once you pass the state exam, you will receive an inactive real estate license. If you want to obtain an active license, you will ultimately have to complete a sponsorship request online using TREC’s Online Licensing Service platform.

How do I change or cancel my exam date?

If you want to change or cancel your registered exam date, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your exam date by calling PearsonVUE at (800)997-1248. You may receive a refund or transfer your exam fee to a new reservation.

How many questions are on the Texas real estate exam?

The Texas real estate salespersons exam consists of 125 total multiple-choice questions. The exam is broken down into a national portion and a state law portion. The national portion includes 85 multiple-choice questions, while the state law portion includes 40 multiple-choice questions.

What is included on the Texas real estate licensing exam?

The national portion of the exam includes 80 questions plus 5 preset items (which are not counted toward your score). The state law portion of the exam includes 30 questions pus 10 present items. The Texas Candidate Handbook gives a detailed breakdown of the topics tested on the exam.

How long does it take to get my Texas state exam results?

You will receive a score report right after you complete the exam. The score report will simply state “pass” or “fail”. TREC and Pearson VUE does not allow you to review the exam questions once you complete the exam.

I just passed my Texas real estate exam, now what?

Once you pass the state licensing exam, you will be eligible to receive your real estate license. If you cleared your background check, TREC will email you your license document within 5-10 business days of passing the state licensing exam. You will initially receive an inactive license.

What math do I need to know for the Texas State exam?

There are 8 math-related questions on the national portion of the Texas licensing exam. You should memorize the following facts and write them down on the scrap paper you receive at the start of the exam: 1 acre equals 43,560 square feet, and 1 mile equals 5,280 feet.

How many times can I take the State exam?

You are allowed three attempts to pass both the national and state law portions of the exam. If you do not both portions after three attempts, you must take 30 or 60 hours of additional education in order to retake the licensing exam.

What happens if I fail the State exam?

If you fail one portion of the exam 3 times, you must take an additional 30 hours of qualifying real estate education. If you fail both portions of the exam 3 times, you must take an additional 60 hours of qualifying real estate education.

What courses do I have to take if I fail the state exam 3 times?

If you fail either portion of the exam 3 times, you must take another 30 hours of qualifying education before being able to retake the state exam. If you fail both sections 3 times, you must take 60 hours of qualifying education. You may retake any one or two of the 6, 30-hour pre-licensing courses.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the Texas state exam?

A calculator is not required; however, it is recommended. Pearson VUE does not provide calculators. If you choose to use a calculator, you must bring your own. An acceptable calculator includes any hand-held, battery, or solar-powered financial calculator used in real estate, finance, accounting, and business.

What am I required to bring with me to the state exam?

You must present two forms of ID when you arrive at the Pearson VUE testing center. The name on your primary ID must match exactly to the name on your exam registration. You must also present a secondary ID, which may be any other form of ID including a U.S. Social Security Card, or a debit or credit card.

Are there any testing accommodations available?

Pearson VUE provides accommodations to individuals with documented disabilities. Test accommodations are individualized and considered on a case-by-case basis. Test accommodations may include: A separate testing room, extra testing time, or a Reader or Recorder

What are the exam policies at the testing center?

Here is a list of the Pearson VUE’s test center policies that you should be aware of: No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Calculators are permitted, but you must bring your own. Books, papers, and reference materials are not permitted in the exam room. You are allowed to take breaks during the exam.

How can I get a duplicate score report from my state exam?

You can request a duplicate score report from Pearson VUE by completing the form in the Candidate Handbook, or by sending an email request to pearsonvuecustomerservice@pearson.com. Pearson VUE will provide you with a duplicate score report free of charge.

Is the RealEstateU Texas pre-license course approved by TREC?

Yes, RealEstateU's 180-hour online Texas real estate salespersons course is fully approved by TREC. RealEstateU's Provider Number is #9034. You can also perform a search on TREC's website for our company name: "Real Estate U Online LLC".

What is the difference between an active and inactive license?

An active license means you work under a sponsoring broker. When you have an active real estate license, you can work as a real estate agent and perform real estate brokerage activities. If you do not have a sponsoring broker, you will be issued an inactive real estate license.

What is an inactive license?

You will receive an inactive license after passing the state exam and completing all of the requirements of your license application. With an inactive license, you will technically be a licensed Texas real agent; however, you will not be able to perform any real estate related activities.

How do I get my inactive license from TREC?

You will receive an inactive real estate license after you have completed the following: 1) Completed the 180-hour pre-license course. 2) Submitted a license application with TREC. 3) Had your fingerprints taken. 4) Passed the state exam.

When do I get my inactive license from TREC?

Once you have fulfilled all of the requirements of your license application (completed the 180-hour pre-license course, and had your fingerprints taken), you will receive your inactive real estate license within 5-10 business days of passing the state exam.

How do I get an active Texas real estate license?

​In order to get an active real estate license, you will have to complete a sponsorship request with the help of your sponsoring broker. This can be done online using TREC’s Online Licensing Service. Once your sponsoring broker accepts your request, TREC will issue you an active license.

How do I change from an inactive to active real estate license?

Once you are issued an inactive real estate license, you must complete a sponsorship request in order to obtain an active real estate license. You will need the help of your sponsoring broker in order to complete this process. You can complete the sponsorship request online using TREC's Online Licensing Service.

Do I need a sponsoring broker to get my Texas real estate license?

You only need a sponsoring broker if you want to obtain an active real estate license. You can still obtain an inactive license if you do not have a sponsoring broker. However, you will not be able to work as a real estate agent with an inactive license.

How do I renew my Texas real estate license?

All Texas real estate licenses must be renewed every two years. TREC will send you a renewal notice around 90 days prior to your license expiration date. You can renew your license online. You should submit your renewal application and all course completion documents to TREC at least 10 prior to your renewal date.

How do I renew an inactive real estate license?

Prior to your renewal date, you must first complete the 4-hour TREC Legal Update 1 course, and the 4-hour TREC Legal Update 2 course. You are not required to complete the full 18 hours of continuing education. Once you have completed the required qualifying education credits, you can then renew your license online.

How do I renew an active real estate license?

Prior to renewing your active real estate license, you must first complete the required SAE credits or CE credits (depending on if you are renewing for the first-time or not). Once you have completed all of the education requirements, you can then apply to renew your license online.

How much does it cost to renew my Texas real estate license?

​If you renew your license online, the renewal fee will be $110. If you submit a renewal application by mail, you will have to pay the standard $110 renewal fee plus a $20 paper filing fee.

How often do I have to renew my Texas real estate license?

You must renew your Texas real estate license every two years.

What is the difference between SAE and CE?

Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) credits are only required if you are renewing your Texas real estate license for the first time. After you renew your Texas real estate license one or more times, you are only required to take 18-hours of continuing education for every two-year renewal period.

What are the continuing education requirements in Texas?

If you are renewing your Texas real estate license for the first time, you must complete 90-hours of SAE courses. After your first renewal period, you must complete 18-hours of continuing education courses for every 2-year renewal period.

How do I get my Texas real estate salespersons license?

There are 5 steps you need to take to get your Texas real estate license. Step 1: File your license application. Step 2: Complete the 180-hour pre-license course. Step 3: Get your fingerprints taken and pass your background check. Step 4: Pass the state exam. Step 5: Find a sponsoring broker and activate your license.

Do I have to take CE courses if I have an inactive license?

You do not have to complete the 18-hours of CE courses to renew an inactive real estate license. However, you still must complete the required 4-hours of TREC’s Legal Update 1 course, and 4-hours of TREC’s Legal Update 2 course prior to your renewal date. First-time renewals must complete the 90-hours of SAE courses.

What happens If I don't complete my required CE credits?

​If you do not complete your CE credits, your license will be changed to inactive status.

What is SAE?

Sales Apprentice Education credits, or SAE, applies to first-time renewals only. Anyone renewing their Texas real estate license for the first time must complete 90 hours of SAE credits. You must complete your SAE credits prior to your first renewal date, otherwise, you cannot renew your real estate license.

What happens If I don't complete my SAE credits?

If you do not complete the required SAE credits by the time of your renewal date, your license will be changed to inactive status. Unlike CE credits, SAE credits cannot be deferred by paying a fee.

What happens if I don't complete my SAE courses?

​If you do not complete the required 90 hours of SAE courses by your first renewal date, your license will be changed to inactive status.

What happens if I don't renew my real estate license?

If you do not renew your real estate license within 6 months of your renewal date, your license will be changed to an inactive status. If you do not renew your real estate license within 2 years after your renewal date, you must reapply for a new license and pass the State exam again.

How do I renew an expired Texas real estate license?

TREC allows you to renew your license for up to 6 months after your renewal date. If you renew your license from 6 months to 2 years after your renewal date, you must apply to reinstate your license. If your license has been expired for two or more years, you must pass the State exam again.

How can I get my license reinstated?

​If your license has not been renewed for 6 months to 2 years after your renewal date, you must apply to get your license reinstated. You can get your license reinstated by submitting a reinstatement form and paying the required renewal fees as well as any late fees.

How soon can I renew my real estate license?

TREC will send you a renewal notice around 90 days prior to your renewal date. You cannot renew your license until you receive this notice. However, you can still take the required qualifying education (CE and SAE courses) any time during the previous two years.

What can I do with my Texas real estate license?

If you hold an active real estate license, you can sell or lease all types of real estate in the State of Texas, and earn a commission in the process. This includes single-family homes, multi-family properties, office buildings, retail buildings, and even factories. You can also represent buyers/renters.

When is a real estate license required in Texas?

A real estate license is required if you represent a seller or buyer of real property as an agent, and earn a commission in the process. It is important to note that you do not need a real estate license to buy or sell your own home.

What are the requirements to become a Texas real estate agent?

In order to qualify to become a Texas real estate agent, you must satisfy the following requirements: 1) Be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien. 2) Be at least 18 years old. 3) Meet the Texas Real Estate Commission’s qualifications for “honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity”.

Pennsylvania

How to obtain my Pennsylvania real estate license?

In order to obtain your Pennsylvania real estate salesperson license, you will have to complete these steps:

Is the Pennsylvania License Course State Approved?

The Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson course package is fully approved by both the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission and Arello.

Michigan

How to obtain my Michigan Real Estate License?

In order to obtain your Michigan real estate salesperson license, you will have to complete these steps:

Is the Michigan License Course State Approved?

The Michigan Real Estate Salesperson course package is fully approved by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA).

Virginia

Is the Virginia License Course State Approved?

The Virginia Real Estate Salesperson course package is fully approved by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR).

How to obtain my Virginia Real Estate License?

First, you must complete the 60-hour pre-licensing course. At the end of the course is a proctored final exam. Once you pass the proctored final exam, you will earn your Certificate of Completion for the course.

Georgia

Is the RealEstateU Georgia pre-license course State approved?

Yes! The 75-Hour RealEstateU Online Georgia Real Estate Salesperson course is fully approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission and Arello. The approval number under the Georgia Real Estate Commission is: # 8066 The approval number under Arello is: # 7742

How do I get my Georgia Real Estate Salespersons License?

There are 3 steps you need to take in order to get your Georgia real estate salespersons license. Step #1: Complete the required 75-hour Georgia pre-license course. Step #2: Schedule and pass the State exam. Step #3: Apply for your Georgia Real Estate Salespersons license.

How much does it cost to get my Georgia real estate license?

Here are the costs associated with obtaining your Georgia real estate salesperson license. 75-hour pre-license course: $140. State Exam Fee: $121. License Application Fee: $170. GCIC report: $25. Total Cost: $456. Have in mind that these costs are spread out over the entire licensing process and not paid all upfront.

How do I take the Georgia real estate state exam?

The Georgia real estate salesperson and broker's State exam must be taken at one of the four PSI testing centers.​ The PSI testing centers are located in Duluth, Marietta, Savannah, and Macon. If you completed the 75-hour Georgia pre-license course, you can schedule your State exam online at www.goAMP.com.

What is an active and inactive real estate license in Georgia?

An active license means you have a sponsoring broker​, which allows you to engage in real estate brokerage activities, such as selling or leasing properties. An inactive license means you do not have a sponsoring broker and you cannot engage in any real estate brokerage activities.

How can I get my Georgia license if I'm licensed in another State?

You can apply for a Georgia real estate license if you meet the following criteria: 1) You have passed the State real estate exam in your current State; 2) You currently hold a real estate license that is in good standing. If you meet these requirements, you simply have to submit an Application for Reciprocity License.

What is included on the Georgia Real Estate Salesperson State exam?

The Georgia Real Estate Salesperson State Exam consists of two portions: (1) the National Real Estate portion and (2) the Georgia Salesperson Supplement portion. The Nation portion consists of 100 multiple-choice questions, while the State portion consists of 52 multiple-choice questions.

What tests do I need to take to get my Georgia real estate license?

To get your Georgia real estate salespersons license you must pass two exams. The first exam is the school's proctored final exam (taken at the end of the 75-hour Georgia pre-license course). The second exam is the proctored State exam.

How do I renew my Georgia real estate license?

Georgia real estate licenses must be renewed every four years You can renew your license online up to 120 days prior to your renewal date. You must complete at least 36 hours of approved continuing education courses. The Georgia Real Estate Commission does NOT allow a grace period. There is a $125 renewal fee.

How do I renew an expired Georgia real estate license?

If your Georgia real estate license has been expired for less than one year, you can renew your license online. You must have completed the required continuing education credits in order to receive an active license. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you must submit a Reinstatement Application.

How much does it cost to renew my Georgia real estate license?

The Georgia Real Estate Commission requires all real estate licensees to renew their license every four years. The standard renewal fee is $125; however, this fee can be reduced to $100 if you renew your license online.

How long does it take to get my Georgia real estate license?

Step 1: Complete the required 75-hour Georgia pre-license course. If taken online, you can complete the course in 2-6 weeks. Step 2: Schedule and pass the State exam (1-3 weeks). You can obtain your real estate license at the PSI testing center right after you pass the State exam. The entire process takes 3-9 weeks.

What are the requirements to become a Georgia real estate salesperson?

The following is a list of requirements to get a Georgia real estate salespersons license: 1) You must be at least 18 years old. 2) Complete the required education requirement (75-hour pre-license course) 3) Pass the State exam. 4) Complete a background check. 5) Apply for your license and pay the required fees.

Do I need any prior experience to become a Georgia real estate agent?

No, you do not need any prior experience in order to obtain a real estate salesperson's license in Georgia.

What happens if I don't complete the Georgia Post-license course?

The GREC requires all newly licensed agents to complete the 25-hour Sales Postlicense Course within one year of obtaining their license. If they fail to do so, their license is considered "lapsed" and will have to be reinstated by submitting a Post License Course Reinstatement Application and paying the required fee.

What happens If I don't complete the Georgia CE real estate course?

All active licensees must complete 36 hours of continuing education every 4 years. If you fail to do so, your license is considered lapsed and must be reinstated. You must submit a Reinstatement Application and pay the required fee.

What are the continuing education requirements in Georgia?

Real estate brokers and salespersons with an active license in Georgia are required to complete 36 hours of Commission approved continuing education courses during each 4-year renewal period. The 36 hours of continuing education credits must include at least 3 hours of License Law.

My Georgia license is inactive. Should I take the postlicense course?

Yes, all newly licensed real estate salespersons must take the required 25-hour Sales Postlicense Course. If you fail to do so, your license will be considered lapsed and will have to be reinstated. However, inactive licensees are not required to take the 36-hours of continuing education credits every four years.

Do I have to take the CE courses if my Georgia license is inactive?

No. Only active real estate licensees are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education every 4 years. With an inactive license, you are only required to pay the renewal fee. However, newly licensed agents, including inactive licensees are required to complete the 25-hour Sales Postlicense course.​

When are the renewal fees due for my Georgia real estate license?

Your Georgia real estate license must be renewed every 4 years. The renewal fee is due by the last day of the month of your birthday in the year indicated on your pocket card. You are allowed to pay the renewal fee up to four months prior to this date.

What are the age requirements to obtain a Georgia real estate license?

You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a Georgia real estate salespersons license. You must be at least 21 years old to obtain a Georgia real estate broker's license.

Can I take the Georgia pre-license course if I'm still in High School?

Yes! You can take the 75-hour Georgia real estate salespersons course while you are still in High School. You can also take the State real estate salespersons exam at age 17; however, you cannot activate your license until you are at least 18 years old.

Can I get my Georgia real estate license if I have a prior conviction?

Yes, it is still possible to obtain a Georgia real estate license if you have a prior conviction. The Georgia Real Estate Commission will have to review your case and make a decision to accept or deny your license application. You must submit a Background Clearance Application along with the required documentation.

Why is a background check needed to get a Georgia real estate license?

The Commission uses a background check to verify that you do not have any prior convictions. If you are a resident of Georgia, you must submit a Georgia Crime Information Center report with your license application. If you are not a resident of Georgia, you must submit a criminal background report from your home State.

How can I take the 75-hour Georgia real estate salespersons course?

You can take the 75-hour Georgia real estate salespersons course either online or in-person. Most students prefer to take the course online since they can take the course at their own pace. If you take the course in-person at a local school, you will have to take the course according to the school's schedule.

Can I take the 75-hour Georgia real estate salespersons course online?

Yes! As long as the online course is fully approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission, you can take the course online. Most students actually prefer to take the course online since it allows them to take the course at their own pace. It is entirely possible to complete the 75-hour​ online course in under one week.

Can I get a Georgia real estate license if I don't work for broker?

Yes, you can still obtain an inactive real estate license. However, you cannot engage in any real estate related activities with an inactive license. You can renew an inactive license every four years by paying the renewal fee. You will not be required to complete the 36 hours of continuing education credits.

How do I get a GA real estate license if I'm already licensed in FL?

If you have a real estate license in Florida, you can still apply for reciprocity to obtain a Georgia real estate license. However, Georgia law requires Florida licensees to first pass the Georgia Supplement Exam. You must also submit an original certificate of license history from the Florida Real Estate Commission.

How much does the Georgia real estate salespersons exam cost?

The Georgia real estate salespersons State exam costs $121 per attempt. You can make the payment online at www.goAMP.com ​using a credit card. You can also make the payment using a cashier's check or money order made payable to PSI Services Inc. The exam fee is non-refundable.

How many questions are on the Georgia real estate exam?

The Georgia real estate salespersons State exam consists of 152 multiple-choice questions. The questions are divided between the National Real Estate portion and the Georgia Salesperson Supplement portion (the State portion). The National portion includes 100 questions, while the State portion includes 52 questions.

How long does it take to get my Georgia real estate exam results?

The good news is you will receive your State exam results right after you complete the exam.​ After you have completed the Salesperson state exam the testing supervisor will give you your score report, which will show the results of your exam.

I just passed my Georgia real estate exam, now what?

Once you pass the State exam, you can then apply for your license at the PSI testing center. You will have the option to apply for an active or inactive license. If you apply for an active license, you must submit the required supporting documents. Once your application is approved, you will receive your license.

What math do I need to know for the State exam?

The National portion of the State exam includes 13 questions on 'real estate calculations'. Most of the math questions you will see involve basic algebra. The Georgia Salesperson Supplement portion of the exam (the State portion) does not include any math-related questions.

How do I apply for my Georgia real estate salespersons license?

You can apply for your license at the PSI testing center, right after you pass the State exam. You have the option to apply for an active or inactive license, depending on if you have a sponsoring broker. You must submit the required documentation along with the non-refundable license fee.

Can I work for more than one sponsoring broker at the same time?

No, in Georgia you can only work for one sponsoring broker at a time. However, it is possible to work under a sponsoring broker in Georgia while also working under a different broker in another State. In this case, the other State must permit such a practice and both brokers must agree in writing.

Do I need a sponsoring broker to get my Georgia real estate license?

No, you can still obtain an inactive real estate license; however, you will not be permitted to engage in any real estate brokerage activities. If you wish to change your license from an inactive license to an active license, you must complete the Real Estate Change Application.

Can I take my Georgia state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you only need a sponsoring broker to apply for an active license. If you do not have a sponsoring broker after you pass the State exam, you can apply for an inactive license. You also have up to one year after passing the State exam to apply for your license.​

How much is the Georgia real estate license application?

If you apply for your license within 90 days of passing the State exam, there is a non-refundable license fee of $170. If you apply for your license between 90 days and 12 months of passing the State exam, the license fee doubles to $340.

Can I get my GA real estate license if I'm not a GA resident?

Yes, you are not required to be a Georgia resident in order to obtain a Georgia real estate license. The steps to obtain your license are the same as Georgia residents; however, you must submit a crime history report from your local State rather than a Georgia Crime Information Report​.

Can I obtain my Georgia real estate license if I'm not a U.S. citizen?

In order to get a Georgia real estate license, you must be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully permitted resident. If you are not a U.S. citizen, we recommend emailing the Georgia Real Estate Commission at Verify@grec.state.ga.us to have them review your status and confirm that you are permitted to get a real estate license.

Can I work part-time as a real estate agent?

Yes, you can use your real estate license whenever you wish, including part-time. In fact, many real estate licensees choose not to work full-time. As an independent contractor, your sponsoring broker cannot tell you how many hours you have to work.

What is the difference between a real estate broker and a salesperson?

A real estate salesperson must work under a real estate broker. A real estate salesperson operates as a sub-agent to their sponsoring broker and can perform all of the duties of a broker. Once you get enough experience as a salesperson, you can qualify to take the broker's exam and get your broker's license.

How do I find a real estate broker to work for as a real estate agent?

Here are the steps you should take to find a sponsoring broker: 1) Google brokers in your area. 2) Reach out to 10 brokers. 3) Schedule interviews with 4 or 5 of the brokers. 4) During the interview, ask them about commission splits and training. 5) Select the broker that best fits your career goals.

What is a REALTOR?

A REALTOR is a licensed real estate salesperson who also belongs to the National Association of REALTORS. Many people believe that a REALTOR is another word for a real estate agent. However, this is not the case. If a real estate salesperson does not belong to the NAR, they cannot call themselves a REALTOR.

What can I do with my Georgia real estate license?

As a Georgia real estate broker or salesperson you can sell or lease all types of real estate in the State of Georgia, and earn a commission in the process. You can also represent buyers looking to purchase any type of real property in the State of Georgia and earn a commission from the seller's broker.

When is a real estate license required in Georgia?

A real estate license is required if you represent a seller or buyer of real property as an agent and earn a commission in the process. It is important to note that you do not need a real estate license to buy or sell your own home.

What is a sponsoring broker?

A sponsoring broker is a real estate broker that employs a real estate salesperson. State law requires all real estate salespersons to work under a sponsoring broker. The sponsoring broker will actually hold the license of the real estate salesperson.

Are there any reviews of RealEstateU?

We recommend reviewing our Groupon page for reviews. We have over 2,000 positive reviews on Groupon, with an average rating of over 4.5 out of 5 stars. You can click here to read more on RealEstateU: https://www.groupon.com/deals/real-estate-u-georgia-4​

How many students have taken RealEstateU courses?

To date, over 50,000 students have started their real estate career with RealEstateU. You can click here to learn more about RealEstateU: https://www.realestateu.tv/about-us-real-estate-school/​

How do I contact RealEstateU?

RealEstateU is available 24/7 to answer your questions via email. You should expect a response within a few minutes! You can email your questions here: https://www.realestateu.tv/contact/​

What makes RealEstateU different from other real estate schools?

RealEstateU offers the fastest and most affordable way to get your real estate license. RealEstateU produces all of its own content, while most other online schools simply license their content from third parties. RealEstateU also offers excellent customer support and is available 24/7 to answer any of your questions.

Is there an instructor available if I need any help?

Yes! There is always an instructor available to answer any of your questions. You can simply email us at Instructor@RealEstateU.tv and our instructors will get back to you very quickly.

How much money can I make as a real estate agent?

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average real estate agent earns $50,300 each year, while the top 10% of real estate agents make over $110,000 per year. However, these statistics include both part-time and full-time agents. Real estate agents have unlimited earning potential.

How do I make money as a real estate agent?

As a real estate agent, you make money in the form of a commission once a sale or rental deal closes. The commission usually equals a percentage of the purchase price, such as 5% or 6%. The total commission will get divided between the seller's and buyer's broker, who in turn, share the commission with the salesperson.