PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Tennessee Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Tennessee
  • About Tennessee’s State Real Estate Education Requirements
  • Applying for a Real Estate License in Tennessee
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Tennessee
  • Real Estate License Renewal in Tennessee
  • RealEstateU Related Question
  • Scheduling Your Tennessee State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Tennessee Real Estate State Licensing Exam
  • Tennessee Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • Tennessee License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Tennessee Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • Tennessee Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Tennessee Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Tennessee real estate license, the Tennessee real estate salespersons course, how to prepare for the TN state exam, how to renew your TN real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About Tennessee’s State Real Estate Education Requirements

How many questions are on the Tennessee pre-license course exam?

The 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate final exam consists of 60 multiple-choice questions. You must achieve a score of 70% or 42 questions correct.

Can I take the TN pre-license coursework if I’m still in high school?

You may take a course, but you cannot apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license until you are at least 18 years of age.

How many hours of education are required to be issued a TN license?

You will need to complete 60 hours of coursework in the areas of real estate principles and fundamentals. In addition, prior to your license being issued, you will need to satisfactorily complete a 30-hour Course for New Affiliates.

Can college courses replace the course requirements for my TN license?

If you hold a college or university degree with a major or coursework concentration in real estate, you may be deemed to have completed the 60-hour course requirement.

If I already hold a law degree, do I still need the 60-hour course?

You might be able to substitute the successful completion of your law school coursework for the required 60-hour course.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my TN affiliate broker license?

Yes, one of the requirements for applying for an affiliate broker license in Tennessee is to provide proof of successful high school graduation or its equivalent (GED).

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in TN?

According to Tennessee Real Estate Commission requirements, affiliate broker candidates must complete 60 hours of real estate education covering real estate principles and fundamentals before they will be able to take the state affiliate broker license examination.

How can I take the real estate principles and fundamentals course?

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission has approved a number of providers for administering the required 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate course. The 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate course is offered from various providers as an online, classroom, distance-learning, or webinar course.

Can I take the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates online?

Like the 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate Course, the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates can be taken in a variety of ways from providers approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. At this time, it is offered in classroom, online and distance learning.

Is the Tennessee pre-license course final exam proctored?

No, the 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate coursework concludes with a closed-book, non-proctored exam. You must achieve a passing grade of at least 70%.

Applying for a Real Estate License in Tennessee

Will I get my license if I pass the exam and meet all requirements?

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission states that successful completion of the examination does not guarantee issuance of an affiliate broker license.

What will I need to do once I have passed the TN state exam?

Your next step in the process is to make your application to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission for your affiliate broker license. Applications forms and other information can be found on the TREC website.

What is errors and omissions insurance?

You will need to show proof that you have acquired errors and omissions insurance when you apply for your affiliated broker license.

What documents are required when applying to the TREC for my license?

You will need to include a list of documents with your affiliate broker’s license application.

After passing the exam, how long do I have to apply for my license?

After you have passed the state exam for affiliate broker license, you have six months to apply for your license. You may choose to submit your application online at CORE or email the items in to trec.info@tn.gov

Getting Fingerprinted in Tennessee

How do I schedule my fingerprint appointment if I am not a resident?

If you reside outside of Tennessee or are otherwise unable to physically go to an IdentoGO location, you can choose IdnetoGO’s non-resident card scan service option.

When do I have to get my fingerprints taken for my TN license?

Applicants for a Tennessee affiliate broker license must complete their fingerprints prior to applying for their license.

Why do I need to be fingerprinted?

The TREC requires all applicants for an affiliate broker license to get fingerprinted as part of a background check requirement. Applicants are requested to use electronic fingerprint submission. While fingerprinting is not required in order to take the state exam, it is required as part of your application.

How do I schedule my fingerprinting appointment?

You will need to schedule an appointment with IndentoGO online. You will then need to select “Tennessee” from the dropdown menu. Move toward the bottom of the page and select “digital fingerprinting.”

How much does it cost to get fingerprinted for my license application?

The cost of fingerprinting is about $35, depending on location and whether you need to use the card scan service. It is paid directly to IdentoGO.

Real Estate License Renewal in Tennessee

What is the cost of renewing my affiliate broker license?

The fee for renewal is $75 and is required every two years. This fee is due prior to the expiration of your current license.

Is there a grace period for renewing my affiliate broker license?

You are allowed a 60-day grace period following the expiration date of your affiliate broker license. You will still be able to renew your license online. However, you will accrue a late fee of $50 per 30 days.

How do I get my real estate license reinstated once it has expired?

If your license has been expired for longer than the 60-day grace period, you are required to request re-instatement through the Commission’s Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System (CORE).

What happens if my license expires while I am on military active duty?

A licensee who is a member of the National Guard or Reserve and gets called to active duty whose license expires during their active duty period are eligible for accommodations in renewing their expired license.

How often do I need to renew my real estate license?

Every two years, you will need to provide certification of satisfactory completion of 16 classroom hours in real estate courses at any school, college or university approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

What is the education requirement for renewing my TN license?

You will need to provide certification of satisfactory completion of 16 classroom hours in real estate coursework taken through any school, college or university approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

How do I renew my affiliate broker license in Tennessee?

You may renew your affiliate broker license online, at CORE. You should renew your license prior to its expiration date. You will need to have completed the required number of classroom hours in real estate education before renewing. The renewal is good for two years.

RealEstateU Related Question

Is the RealEstateU Tennessee pre-license course approved by the TREC?

Yes. RealEstateU and the Tennessee courses are fully approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

Scheduling Your Tennessee State Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I schedule my state exam for an affiliate broker license?

You can schedule your exam online at candidate.psiexams.com or by calling PSI’s Candidate Service Center at 1-800-733-9267. PSI advises that the fastest and most convenient way to schedule an exam is over the Internet. Online registration is available 24 hours a day.

How do I find a test center near me?

If you go online to the PSI candidate website, you’ll find a list of testing centers that administer the affiliate broker exam. For an accurate list, choose your licensing authority/sponsor name from the drop-down menu. There is also a list of testing sites included in your exam’s Candidate Information Bulletin.

How do I cancel and reschedule my test after making an appointment?

If you provide notice at least two days prior to your appointment that you need to cancel and reschedule your exam, you won’t have to forfeit your exam fee. Keep in mind that sending an email to PSI or leaving a voicemail will not be considered adequate notification.

What if I cancel my appointment less than two days prior to my test?

If you cancel your appointment and do not provide at least a two-day notice, your registration will become invalid, you will not be able to take your exam as scheduled and you will forfeit your examination fee.

What information will I need to provide when I schedule my appointment

When you schedule your appointment, you will need to provide your name, social security number, phone number, mailing address, email address, method of payment, the title of the exam, and eligibility information.

Taking the Tennessee Real Estate State Licensing Exam

If I fail my exam will I know what areas I need to study for a retake?

If you are unsuccessful in passing the affiliate broker state exam, you will be provided with a written analysis of your test results, which should be useful in preparing to retake the exam.

How far in advance do I need to schedule my TN state licensing exam?

You can schedule your exam session at least 6 weeks in advance, if you prefer. Your best chance of getting an appointment on your preferred date is to contact PSI about 4 to 6 weeks before your preferred testing date.

Who do I contact if I have a question about the TN state exam?

For questions or requests for more information about the exam itself, you can refer to the candidate booklet for the exam or contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267 or online at candidate.psiexams.com.

If I am a non-resident are there extra steps to schedule my exam?

As an agent licensed in another state, you must be affiliated with a firm that is licensed to operate in Tennessee with a principal broker who is licensed in Tennessee.

May I bring a calculator to my TN state exam?

You may bring a battery-operated calculator for use during the exam, but it must be operated silently. It cannot be programmable and must not have a keyboard containing the alphabet nor paper-tape printing capabilities.

How long will it take for the testing center to issue my exam results?

Your score will appear immediately on the computer screen after you have finished the exam. This will happen automatically at the end of the time allowed for the examination.

I failed my state licensing exam. What do I do now?

The affiliate broker exam is divided into two sections: national and state. If you pass one section, but not the other, you will only need to retake the section you failed. A passing score for one section of the exam will stay valid through two retakes of a failed section or for 6 months, whichever comes first.

Who administers the state licensing exam for a TN license?

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission has contracted with PSI Examination Services (PSI) to conduct the examination program. PSI offers the state exam through a network of computer examination centers in Tennessee.

What security procedures will be in place during the state examination

PSI has a number of security procedures that will be in place during the examination and must be adhered to by all applicants taking the exam.

What is the cost of the TN state exam for affiliate broker applicants?

The fee for the exam is $39, whether you are taking only the Tennessee-specific portion or both portions of the exam. The registration fees are not refundable nor transferrable.

What items may I take into my TN state licensing exam appointment?

You may not take any personal items into the testing center. PSI is not responsible for any personal items and recommends you leave them in a secure place while you take your exam.

Tennessee Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

Can I get my TN affiliate broker license if I have a prior conviction?

To be eligible for the affiliate broker examination or considered for licensure, at least two years must have passed from the date of expiration of probation, parole, or occurred later. This restriction applies to all felonies as well as to misdemeanors that involve the theft of money, services, or property.

What does the TN Real Estate Commission consider to be a conviction?

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission expects applicants to disclose if they have been convicted, pled no contest or found guilty of any criminal offense over the last 10 years, other than a traffic violation. This includes a DUI and reckless driving, which are misdemeanors.

How do I know if a past conviction prevents me from getting a license?

Rather than waiting until you take the state exam, you can petition the Tennessee Real Estate Commission for a preliminary decision even before you complete your pre-license education.

Tennessee License Qualifications / Requirements

Is there a way to speed up the time it takes to get my TN license?

For the quickest service, you should make your application online at the Commission’s website, CORE. Applying via other means, such as email, fax, or postal mail, may cause a delay in review of your application.

Are attorneys exempt from the requirements for obtaining a TN license?

Attorneys are not exempt from the requirements for an affiliate broker application. However, if the attorney has satisfactorily completed certain relevant classes, those hours may be used to fulfill the education requirements for the original affiliate broker license.

What examinations do I need to take to get my TN license?

You will need to take two final course exams from your 60-hour and 30-hour required courses, as well as the state’s affiliate broker licensing exam. The state exam comes with two distinct sections: a national portion and a state portion.

What steps do I need to take to get my TN affiliate broker license?

Before applying for your affiliate broker license in Tennessee, you must meet three requirements.

Is there a character assessment as part of the TN application process?

According to TCA 62-13-303, licenses shall only be granted to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact the business of affiliate broker in a manner to safeguard the interest of the public.

What are the questions that must be answered to take the state exam?

Candidates must answer a series of six questions. Answering “yes” to any of the first five questions could lower a candidate’s likelihood of being approved for a license in Tennessee.

What is the age requirement for getting a TN affiliate broker license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license.

What is the minimum education required to apply for a TN license?

You will be required to show proof of a high school diploma or equivalent when making your application for an affiliate broker license.

Do I need to be a TN resident in order to apply for a TN license?

If you are a resident from another state, you may still apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license if you hold a real estate salesperson license in your own state.

Will I need to provide a SSN to apply for a TN license?

All applicants for an affiliate broker license are required to submit an eligibility verification form. If you are claiming U.S. citizenship, you have the option of providing your social security number as part of your application in place of one of the following forms of identification with your application.

Can I get my TN license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

If you are on parole or probation, the Tennessee Real Estate Commission does not allow you to be scheduled for the state licensing exam until two years have passed from the date of expiration of probation, conviction, or release from incarceration, whichever is latest.

What are the requirements for applying for a license in TN?

In order to apply for an affiliate broker license in Tennessee, you must first meet the following three requirements.

What could keep me from receiving approval for a TN license?

The TREC carefully examines all applications for affiliate brokers. If you have been convicted of, pled no contest to, pled guilty to or been granted first offender treatment upon being charged with any criminal offense other than a traffic violation, you can expect your application to be especially scrutinized.

Does TN have any license accommodations for members of the military?

Military education, training, or experience can be considered as meeting the education requirements, in whole or in part, for an affiliate broker license if the Tennessee Real Estate Commission deems that it is equivalent to that required for licensure.

Can I get a real estate sales license in TN without becoming a broker?

Entry-level real estate licensees in Tennessee are considered affiliate brokers. This license is the equivalent of what is known as a real estate sales license in other states.

What is the cost of obtaining a Tennessee affiliate broker license?

1) Complete the 90-hour Tennessee Affiliate Broker real estate license course​: $149 2) Pass the real estate exam: $39/ attempt 3) Get Fingerprinted: $35 4) Submit your license application: $91 Total Cost: $314

Tennessee Real Estate Profession Related Questions

What can I do with my Tennessee affiliate broker license?

If you hold an affiliated broker license, you may earn a commission or other compensation by representing buyers and sellers in the listing, selling, purchasing, exchange, leasing, renting, or leasing option on any real estate, real estate improvement or timeshare.

When is an affiliate broker license required in Tennessee?

An affiliate broker license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction, including listing, selling, purchasing, leasing, lease options and renting, and earn a commission for services rendered.

Tennessee Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Do I need to take the state exam if I hold a license in another state?

If you hold or have held, an active real estate license from another state and have now moved to Tennessee, you may qualify to have your real estate coursework and passage of the national portion of the exam substitute for Tennessee’s required coursework and national part of the state exam.

What is the equivalent of a real estate salesperson license in TN?

The equivalent license to a real estate sales license is an affiliate broker license in Tennessee. Tennessee law does not license real estate salespersons, as the profession is referred to in most other states. Entry-level real estate licensees are considered affiliate brokers.

Can I get my TN affiliate broker license if I live in another state?

Yes, if you are a resident from another state, you may apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license if you hold a real estate license in your state of residency. However, The firm and principal broker where you are affiliated in your state of residency must also hold an active Tennessee real estate license.

Does a non-resident applicant need to file an irrevocable consent form

Yes, non-resident applicants must file an irrevocable consent form allowing for suits and actions that may be taken against them to occur in the proper court within the state of Tennessee, as required by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

Can I obtain my TN affiliate broker license if I’m not a U.S. citizen?

Yes, you may apply if you are a qualified alien as defined in Tennessee’s Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act.

Does Tennessee offer reciprocity with other states?

No, Tennessee does not offer reciprocity with other states in regards to real estate licenses.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Tennessee
  • About Tennessee’s State Real Estate Education Requirements
  • Applying for a Real Estate License in Tennessee
  • Getting Fingerprinted in Tennessee
  • Real Estate License Renewal in Tennessee
  • RealEstateU Related Question
  • Scheduling Your Tennessee State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Tennessee Real Estate State Licensing Exam
  • Tennessee Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • Tennessee License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Tennessee Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • Tennessee Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE