PricingWhy use usBlogContact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Washington Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Washington
  • About the WA State Real Estate Education Requirements
  • Applying for a WA Real Estate License
  • Real Estate License Renewal in WA
  • Scheduling Your WA State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the WA State Licensing Exam
  • WA Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • WA License Qualifications and Requirements
  • WA Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • WA RealEstateU Related Question
  • WA Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Washington Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Washington real estate license, the Washington real estate broker course, how to prepare for the WA state exam, how to renew your WA real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the WA State Real Estate Education Requirements

If I already hold a law degree, do I still need the WA 90-hour course?

An attorney-at-law, in the performance of practicing law, is exempt from the licensing requirements otherwise necessary for providing assistance with real estate transactions.

Can military experience replace the requirement for a WA application?

If you have military training or experience, you may satisfy the training or experience required for a real estate broker license. However, the Washington State Licensing Department would need to determine that the training or experience you received is equivalent to the state’s standards for licensure.

Can I waive the education requirements for my Washington application?

Coursework completed at an institution of higher education or any degree-granting institution approved by the Department of Licensing may be substituted for required clock-hours of educational coursework at the discretion of the Department. Be prepared to provide documentation of course completion.

How many hours of education are required for a WA broker license?

Applicants are required to complete 90 hours of pre-licensure coursework before being able to submit a real estate broker license application and receive approval to take the state license exam.

How do I receive my WA pre-license course completion certificate?

Once you have successfully completed the required 90-hour broker pre-licensure course, you will be able to set up your free online student account with PSI, the testing administrator for the Washington real estate broker licensing exam.

Can I take the WA pre-license courses if I’m still in high school?

You may take the 90-hour coursework, but you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Washington real estate broker license and have achieved your high school diploma or equivalent.

How many questions are on the Washington pre-license course exam?

The final exam for the 60-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course consists of 200 multiple-choice questions, while the final exam for the 30-hour Real Estate Practices course consists of 90 multiple-choice questions. You will need to achieve a passing grade of 70% on both.

How can I take the 90-hour real estate broker pre-license course?

The 90-hour pre-license course may be completed via in-person classroom or through means of distance learning. Courses and school must be approved by the Department of Licensing, with a separate application required for distance education delivery method.

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in WA?

An applicant must complete 90 hours of approved real estate education coursework within the past two years in order to be eligible to apply for the state licensing exam. The education requirement consists of a 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals and a 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my Washington broker license?

Yes, you are required to have a high school diploma in order to apply for a Washington real estate broker license. A GED is acceptable in lieu of a high school diploma.

Applying for a WA Real Estate License

If I pass the exam and meet all requirements will I get my WA license?

Successfully completing the steps for the state’s real estate broker license does not guarantee it will be issued. The Washington State Licensing Department will also consider your character and criminal background before making a determination as to whether you are issued a license.

What documents are required for my WA real estate license application?

It is highly recommended to set up a SecureAccess WA account to enable you to complete and submit your application online. Your broker license application should include:
Completed application
Certified completion of pre-licensure education
Criminal background report
Payment of $146.25 application fee

What is “errors and omissions” insurance in WA?

Errors and omissions insurance is also known as professional liability insurance. Its purpose is to protect you against lawsuits claiming that you made an error while providing professional real estate services.

What do I do once I have successfully passed the WA state exam?

Once you have passed the state licensing exam, you will need to take the remaining steps necessary before your license can be issued. If you have not already done so, you will need to get your fingerprints taken with MorphoTrust’s IdentoGO.

Real Estate License Renewal in WA

What is the cost of renewing my WA broker license?

The fee for renew is $146.25 when renewed on time and is required every two years. This fee is due prior to the expiration of your current license to avoid paying a penalty or possibly having your license expire or be cancelled. If you fail to renew by the renewal date, you will need to pay a fee of $172.75.

How do I get my WA real estate license reinstated once it has expired?

You can bring the license back into active status if you act before your license has expired one year past its renewal date. You will need to meet all required continuing education and pay a fee of $172.75, which includes a penalty fee. You must renew your license prior to the one-year anniversary of your renewal date.

Is there a grace period for renewing my WA broker license?

Licenses are considered expired if renewal requirements are not met by the renewal date, including fees and continuing education requirements. If expired, the licensee will incur a penalty fee. If a license renewal requirement is not met within one year from the date of expiration, the license is cancelled.

How do I renew my broker license in Washington?

You can renew your license online at Washington Broker License Renewal. The renewal fee is $146.25 and can be paid online when renewing your license. If you do not renew your license prior to the renewal date, the fee is $172.75.

What is the education requirement for renewing my license in WA?

The first year you renew your real estate broker license, you will need to complete at least 90 hours of continued education coursework, beginning after your date of licensure. For subsequent renewals, you will need to complete at least 30 hours of continuing education.

How often do I need to renew my WA real estate broker license?

Real estate broker licenses expire every two years, but you can renew your license up to 120 days before it expires. You can sign up for the Department of Licensing’s listserv to get updates and alerts regarding your license. Your license can be renewed online using your SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account.

Scheduling Your WA State Real Estate Licensing Exam

What information is needed when I schedule my WA exam appointment?

When you schedule your appointment, you will need to provide your name, social security number, phone number, mailing address, the title of the exam, eligibility information, email address, and​ method of payment​.

Can I miss or cancel appointment less than one day prior to my exam?

If you miss your scheduled appointment or cancel less than one business day prior to your scheduled exam date, you may reschedule directly through the PSI website or by phone at 855-746-8168 to reschedule the missed exam or exam sections.

How can I cancel and reschedule my test after I’ve made an appointment

Applicants may reschedule their exam appointment once at no penalty by going online at http://schedule.psiexams.com or by contacting PSI at 855-746-8168. Appointments should be cancelled or rescheduled at least one business day prior to the scheduled testing date to avoid additional fees.

Can I get my WA real estate license if I am not a WA resident?

If you are licensed in another jurisdiction, you will still need to create a SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account by visiting SecureAccess Washington. Once you have created your account, you can select “Add New Service,” then choose “Professional and Business Licensing” from the available list of services.

How to schedule my Washington exam if I am licensed in another state?

If you are licensed in another state at a level equivalent to, or greater than, the Washington real estate broker license, you will need to be affiliated with a firm and designated broker licensed in Washington. You will need to provide your licensing and education information to the WA State Department of licensing.

How long does it take to register and schedule my WA State exam?

Once your certification of completion for your pre-licensure education requirements have been electronically submitted to PSI and you have received approval to schedule the licensing exam, you can go to the PSI candidate website and following the instructions. You can also schedule your exam by calling PSI Services.

How do I find a WA test center near me?

PSI administers the Washington real estate broker licensing exam at 12 PSI Test Centers in Washington. The current listing of PSI Test Centers, including center addresses and driving directions, can be viewed at http://schedule.psiexams.com. Examinations are administered by appointment only, Monday through Saturday.

How do I schedule my WA real estate exam for a broker license?

You can schedule your exam either online at http://schedule.psiexams.com, available 24 hours a day, or by calling 855-746-8168, Monday through Thursday, between 5 a.m. and 7 p.m. PT; Friday between 5 a.m. and 5 p.m. PT; or Saturday from 6:30 a.m. to 3 p.m PT.

Taking the WA State Licensing Exam

If I fail my exam will I know what areas I need to focus for a retake?

Yes, you will receive your score report once you have completed your exam. It will contain your score and information on any area you did not pass.

I failed the WA state broker licensing exam. What do I do now?

If you failed one or both portions of the broker licensing exam, your score and reapplication instructions will be included in your score report. You will need to re-register for the exam and pay the exam fee again. You can do so by going to http://schedule.psiexams.com or by calling 855-746-8168.

How long will it take for the testing center to issue my test results?

Once you have completed your WA real estate exam, you will be asked to report to the testing proctor where you will receive your scoring report and results of your exam. The report will include scoring information for any portion that you failed. You must pass both sections before you can apply for your broker license.

Do I need to take the WA state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, but you will only need to take the Washington law portion of the exam. You will need to include your certified license history when submitting your application. You can usually avoid the pre-licensure education requirement providing a proof of successful completion of the same or similar education elsewhere.

How far ahead of time should I arrive for my exam appointment?

You should arrive no later than your test time. If you are more than 15 minutes late for your scheduled exam, you will not be admitted. Fees will be forfeited and you will need to re-register and pay the fees for a new exam appointment.

Could I bring a calculator to my WA broker license exam?

Calculators brought to the test center must not be programmable. They must be silent and battery operated. The calculator’s keyboard cannot contain the alphabet nor may it have paper-tape printing capabilities.

Can I eat a snack or drink a bottle of water during my test?

Eating and drinking is prohibited in the test center, as is smoking. You may take a break if needed, but no time will be added to make up for time lost during breaks.

What items may I take into my WA broker licensing exam appointment?

You should not take any personal items into the testing center, other than your keys and wallet. You will be provided with a pencil and scrap paper at check-in, which must be returned.

What are considered acts of misconduct when taking the WA state exam?

Causing disturbance, displaying abusive behavior, refusing to cooperate and much more are considered acts of misconduct. If you were to engage in any activities considered to be acts of misconduct during your exam, you may be dismissed, in which case your score will not be recorded and your exam fee will be forfeited.

What security procedures will be in place during the state examination

PSI test centers are continuously monitored by video and audio surveillance equipment for security purposes. All applicants must adhere to specific requirements when taking the exam.

Who do I contact if I have a question about the WA state exam?

For questions or requests for more information about the exam itself, you can refer to the Washington Real Estate Examination Program Handbook or you can contact PSI directly at 855-746-8168 or online at PSI website.

May I take a pencil or paper into my Washington broker licensing exam?

You will be provided with a pencil and piece of scratch paper to use by the test center when you check in. You must return the paper to the test supervisor after you have finished the exam in order to receive your score report. No other notes, papers or documents are allowed into the test center.

How do I pay for the Washington state licensing exam?

PSI accepts major credit cards, including VISA, MasterCard, Discover or American Express. You can also pay by cashier’s check or money order made payable to PSI. Cash is not an acceptable method of payment. You will need to pay for your exam when you schedule it.

What is the cost of the Washington state licensing exam?

The fee for the exam is $138.25, whether you are taking only the state law portion or both parts of the exam. The registration fees are not refundable nor are they transferable. Keep in mind that if you need to retake the exam or a portion of the exam you will need to pay the fee again.

How far in advance do I need to schedule my WA state licensing exam?

Appointments are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis, so the amount of advance time necessary depends on the number of candidates choosing the same day and time. Depending on availability, your test could be scheduled as early as the next testing day.

Who administers the state exam for a WA real estate broker license?

The Washington State Department of Licensing has contracted with PSI to administer the real estate broker licensing examination.

WA Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

Can I get my Washington broker license if I have a prior conviction?

When you make the application for your license, you will need to answer a series of criminal history and character assessment questions. It’s quite possible that a criminal record could affect whether or not you are issued a license.

What does the WA State Department of Licensing consider a conviction?

The Department of Licensing expects you to disclose information about any gross misdemeanor or felony crime. You should not include traffic offenses. The department will review cases on an individual basis and consider the seriousness of the conviction. It will take the level of the crime into consideration.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the WA Department

When making your application for a real estate broker license, you will be asked to respond to several questions regarding any criminal history. You should respond truthfully to these questions.

WA License Qualifications and Requirements

How do I get a real estate salesperson license in Washington?

All real estate licenses issued in Washington are a type of broker license. As a new licensee, you are likely to start your real estate career as a broker. A broker license in Washington is equivalent to a real estate salesperson license in other states.

Is there an age requirement for getting a Washington broker license?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a Washington real estate broker license.

Do I need a high school diploma to get a Washington broker license?

Eligible candidates for a Washington broker license must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

How long will it take to get my Washington real estate broker license?

There are a number of factors that determine how long it will take to get your real estate license in Washington. The primary factors include the time it takes to meet your pre-licensing education requirement, and to schedule and take the licensing exam.

Do I need to be a Washington resident to apply for a WA broker license

If you already hold a real estate license in another jurisdiction, and your current license is equivalent to a Washington’s broker license at minimum, you can apply for a broker license in Washington. In most cases, you will only need to take the Washington law portion of the licensing exam.

Do I need to provide a Social Security number to apply for a license?

Yes, you will need to provide your Social Security number when scheduling your licensing exam appointment. Your social security number is used as a unique identifier and is required by the state for licensing. However, it will not be shared with your school or used for any other purpose.

Can I practice real estate on my own if I get a WA broker license?

No, you are required to be licensed to a firm and supervised by a designated broker. You cannot practice real estate on your own. If you have not affiliated with a brokerage and designated broker at the time you apply for your license, you will be issued an inactive license.

Can I get my WA broker license if I have a past arrest or conviction?

Before your license can be issued, you will need to answer a series of criminal and history and character assessment questions. A criminal record could impact your ability to get, or renew, a license.

What are the requirements for applying for a broker license in WA?

In order to apply for a real estate broker license in Washington, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Earn a high school diploma or equivalent
- Complete 90 hours of approved real estate education
- Be ready to answer legal and criminal background questions

What could keep me from receiving approval for a WA broker license?

Assuming you meet all other requirements for a real estate broker license, you could still be denied a license due to a criminal history. The Washington State Department of Licensing uses two methods to dig deeper into backgrounds of applicants to assess their character: Criminal background and Fingerprinting.

Are there any license accommodations for members of the military?

If you have military training or experience, you may have satisfied the training or experience requirements, unless the director of the Department of Licensing determines that the military training or experience is not equivalent to the state’s requirements for real estate.

What is the cost of obtaining a Washington real estate broker license?

There are certain fixed costs associated with obtaining a Washington state real estate broker’s license. Broker licensing examination fee $138.25 per attempt, regardless if one or both portions of the exam; Fingerprints and background check fees $42.80 or per vendor schedule; Broker license and application fee $146.25

Is there a way to shorten the time it takes to get my WA license?

For the fastest turnaround, you will need to make your application online. That process begins with setting up a SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account. Doing so will not only allow you to submit your application and any corresponding documentation online, but to manage your license online once it has been issued.

Are attorneys exempt from the requirements for obtaining a WA license?

Any active member of the Washington Bar, who is in good standing and qualified under the real estate license law, is exempt from licensing requirements necessary to assist in real estate transactions.

What examinations do I need to take to get my WA broker license?

You will need to pass final course exams for your 60-hour and 30-hour pre-license required coursework, as well as the Washington real estate license exam. The state license exam consists of two distinct sections: a national portion and a state portion.

What steps do I need to take to get my WA real estate broker license?

Step 1: Complete the 90-Hour Washington real estate broker prelicensure education requirement
Step 2: Schedule Your State Real Estate Broker Exam
Step 3: Pass the State Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam
Step 4: Complete fingerprinting
Step 5: Apply for Your Washington real estate broker license

Is a character assessment required as part of the application process?

Your character will be assessed by the Washington State Department of Licensing using two methods. First, you will be required to answer five questions geared toward assessing your criminal history and character. Secondly, the Department will review results of your state and national background checks.

What are the character questions on the WA broker license application?

The criminal history section of the real estate licensing application asks six questions. Two of these questions refer to criminal convictions; one refers to actions taken against an applicant regarding any professional or occupational license, certification or permit; and one asks about civil court action.

WA Real Estate Profession Related Questions

When is a real estate broker license required in Washington?

A real estate broker license is required to represent a buyer or seller in a real estate transaction, and earn a commission or compensation for the services. This includes listing, selling, purchasing, leasing, lease options and renting of real property.

What am I able to do with my Washington broker license?

You are legally able to earn a commission or other compensation, or the expectation of a commission or other compensation, by representing sellers and buyers in the selling, purchasing, listing, exchange, leasing, renting, or leasing option on any real property, real estate improvement or timeshare.

WA RealEstateU Related Question

Is the RealEstateU Washington pre-license course state approved?

Yes. RealEstateU and the Washington pre-license course is fully approved by the Washington State Department of Licensing.

WA Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Can I obtain my Washington broker license if I’m not a U.S. citizen?

The Washington State Department of Licensing does not list U.S. citizenship among the requirements for applying for a real estate broker license. However, a social security number is required when scheduling your appointment for taking your state exam.

Can I get my Washington broker license if I live in another state?

Yes, you can apply for a Washington real estate broker license even if you live in another state. You will still need to be licensed under a designated broker and affiliated with a brokerage licensed in Washington.

Do I need to get a Salesperson license or broker license in WA?

The equivalent license to a real estate broker license in Washington is often called a real estate salesperson license in other states. In Washington, entry-level real estate licensees are considered real estate brokers.

Do I need to take the WA state exam if I am licensed in another state?

If you hold an active real estate license from another state in good standing, or have held a license in good standing during the preceding six months, you will only need to take the Washington law portion of the state real estate licensing exam.

Does Washington offer reciprocity with other states?

Anyone holding a real estate license with the same or greater capacity in another jurisdiction may apply for a real estate license in Washington, regardless of their place of residence, as long as they have maintained their license in good standing, or were active and in good standing in the past 6 months.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Washington
  • About the WA State Real Estate Education Requirements
  • Applying for a WA Real Estate License
  • Real Estate License Renewal in WA
  • Scheduling Your WA State Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the WA State Licensing Exam
  • WA Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • WA License Qualifications and Requirements
  • WA Real Estate Profession Related Questions
  • WA RealEstateU Related Question
  • WA Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side