PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: What are the CE requirements for MO active licensees?

What are the CE requirements for MO active licensees?

Any real estate salesperson licensee in Missouri with an active license must complete 12 hours of continuing education during each of the two-year licensing periods. Missouri CSR2250-10.100.

Note: each classroom hour is defined as 50 minutes for continuing education purposes. Fractional hours will not be credited.

An active license is any license issued by the commission except those which have been placed on inactive status. Failure to provide the commission with evidence of course completion as set forth shall constitute grounds for not renewing a license. MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-10.001.

Continuing Education coursework must include at least three hours of MREC-approved education as a core requirement. For the 2020 through 2022 renewal, a three-hour class must be completed in Real Estate Ethics. The balance of Continuing Education required hours should be MREC-approved coursework. However, the Missouri Real Estate Commission will consider other continuing education coursework that has been completed outside the state for a $10 review fee. Missouri CSR2250-10.100(5). Non-pre-approved coursework must be submitted for approval at least three months before the license's expiration date.

All real estate licenses in Missouri are considered active unless those licenses have been specifically placed in an inactive status. Note: while online schools report results to the Missouri Real Estate Commission, ultimately, Missouri real estate licensees are tasked with the responsibility to ensure that the continuing education credits are accurately reflected in the MREC’s records.

Licensees must attend each continuing education class to receive full credit for the course. No credit is given for fractional hours of classroom attendance. Hours of continuing education that exceed minimum requirements will not be carried forward toward the licensee’s next continuing education requirements for renewal.

Missouri licensees are responsible for ensuring that their continuing education credits are received by the commission. The licensee is thus tasked with providing evidence to support continuing education credits that have not been properly reported by the school to the Missouri Real Estate Commission. MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-10-100 (2).

Each Missouri real estate licensee is tasked with the responsibility of providing a true copy of the course completion certificate when requested by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-10.001(11). The MREC has a specific form that is used when a Missouri real estate licensee is requesting credit for completed continuing education.


Related Questions

How soon can I renew my Missouri real estate license?

Missouri real estate licenses are issued for two years. Each Missouri real estate license for a professional corporation (as a salesperson) or an inactive salesperson will expire on September 30 of each even-numbered year. All other real estate licenses expire on June 30 of each year that ends with an even number.

Will the Commission waive my CE requirements?

The Missouri Real Estate Commission will waive CE requirement with the provision of acceptable evidence and documentation (Missouri Statute CSR2250-10.100(6)).

What are the consequences if I do not renew my MO license on time?

Late fees for a Missouri real estate salesperson's license renewal are calculated at $50 per month (or any part of the month, thereof), with a maximum late fee of $200. It is important to note that a real estate licensee who is required to pay a late fee will clearly have a lapse in their license coverage.

How do I reinstate an expired MO real estate license?

Any Missouri real estate licensee who does not renew their license in the subsequent period will no longer be allowed to practice real estate in Missouri, as the license becomes null and void. Individuals must requalify as a new applicant to begin practicing real estate again. MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-4.020 (2).

What documents are required for a name change on a MO license?

According to a Missouri Real Estate Commission directive in 6-2018, a real estate licensee that is requesting a name change on their license must provide the required documents before the request is granted.

How do I renew an inactive Missouri real estate license?

To renew a Missouri real estate license that has been in an inactive status for more than six months, the licensee must reactivate the real estate license by submitting a completion certificate for the 24-hour MREP (Missouri Real Estate Practice) course with the renewal paperwork.

How do an active and an inactive license differ?

When a Missouri real estate license is in an active status, the licensee is allowed to engage in those activities defined by Missouri law as real estate activities. Licensees who have licenses in an inactive status cannot practice real estate in the State of Missouri.

How does one renew a Missouri real estate salesperson license?

Missouri real estate licensees can renew their real estate license online if the Missouri Real Estate Commission has not yet received the applicant’s most up-to-date information, including evidence of the completion of continuing education credits.

What is the cost to renew a Missouri real estate salesperson license?

When renewing a Missouri real estate license online, an applicant has several electronic payment options (debit/credit card, electronic bank check, etc.). This renewal form is available online.

How often do I have to renew my Missouri real estate license?

Missouri real estate licenses are issued for two years. Each Missouri real estate license for a professional corporation (as a salesperson) or an inactive salesperson will expire on September 30 of each even-numbered year. All other real estate licenses expire on June 30 of each year that ends with an even number.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in Missouri?

Any real estate salesperson licensee in Missouri with an active license must complete 12 hours of continuing education during their two-year licensing period. Missouri Statute 339.40(8). Note: each classroom hour is defined as 50 minutes for continuing education purposes.

What are the CE requirements for MO inactive licensees?

An inactive Missouri real estate licensee is not required to complete continuing education credits during the time the real estate license remains in an inactive status. However, a Missouri real estate licensee will need to complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course and exam.

What are the CE requirements for MO active licensees?

Any real estate salesperson licensee in Missouri with an active license must complete 12 hours of continuing education during each of the two-year licensing periods. Missouri CSR2250-10.100. Note: each classroom hour is defined as 50 minutes for continuing education purposes. Fractional hours will not be credited.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE