PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in TN?

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in TN?

According to Tennessee Real Estate Commission requirements, affiliate broker candidates must complete 60 hours of real estate education covering real estate principles and fundamentals before they will be able to take the state affiliate broker license examination. Proof of satisfactory course completion, including a passing grade of 70% on the final exam, will be sent directly to PSI by the school where you completed the course.

The 60-hour course covering real estate principles and fundamentals should consist of the following subject areas:

· The real estate business

· Agency relationships

· Contracts (including listings, leases and sales)

· Governmental controls on real estate, including the Tennessee Real Estate Broker License Act

· Legal aspects of real estate

· Understanding real estate mathematics

· Real estate valuation

· Real estate finance

· Listing, offer to purchase, and settlement forms

· Tennessee real estate laws, rules, practice, and related topics

· Fair housing law

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission may add or delete required topic areas by providing reasonable written notice to course sponsor and/or instructor.

In addition to completing the 60-hour course prior to scheduling the state exam, affiliate broker candidates must also complete the 30-hour "Course for New Affiliates." Proof of satisfactory completion of this course is required prior to an affiliate license being issued. A certificate of completion for this course should be included with your license application.


Related Questions

How many questions are on the Tennessee pre-license course exam?

The 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate final exam consists of 60 multiple-choice questions. You must achieve a score of 70% or 42 questions correct.

Can I take the TN pre-license coursework if I’m still in high school?

You may take a course, but you cannot apply for a Tennessee affiliate broker license until you are at least 18 years of age.

How many hours of education are required to be issued a TN license?

You will need to complete 60 hours of coursework in the areas of real estate principles and fundamentals. In addition, prior to your license being issued, you will need to satisfactorily complete a 30-hour Course for New Affiliates.

Can college courses replace the course requirements for my TN license?

If you hold a college or university degree with a major or coursework concentration in real estate, you may be deemed to have completed the 60-hour course requirement.

If I already hold a law degree, do I still need the 60-hour course?

You might be able to substitute the successful completion of your law school coursework for the required 60-hour course.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my TN affiliate broker license?

Yes, one of the requirements for applying for an affiliate broker license in Tennessee is to provide proof of successful high school graduation or its equivalent (GED).

What coursework is required if I want to apply for a license in TN?

According to Tennessee Real Estate Commission requirements, affiliate broker candidates must complete 60 hours of real estate education covering real estate principles and fundamentals before they will be able to take the state affiliate broker license examination.

How can I take the real estate principles and fundamentals course?

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission has approved a number of providers for administering the required 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate course. The 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate course is offered from various providers as an online, classroom, distance-learning, or webinar course.

Can I take the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates online?

Like the 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate Course, the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates can be taken in a variety of ways from providers approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. At this time, it is offered in classroom, online and distance learning.

Is the Tennessee pre-license course final exam proctored?

No, the 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate coursework concludes with a closed-book, non-proctored exam. You must achieve a passing grade of at least 70%.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE