PricingWhy use usBlog

Contact UsStudent Login

Share
or
Save

FAQ: Virginia Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Categories > Virginia
  • About the 60-Hour Virginia Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Virginia Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • Getting Fingerprinted
  • How to Get a Virginia Real Estate License
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Scheduling Your Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Virginia License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Virginia Real Estate License Renewal

Virginia Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Virginia real estate license, Virginia license qualifications and requirements, disclosing prior criminal activity, how to get a Virginia real estate license, reciprocity and out-of-state licensees, about the 60-hour Virginia real estate license course, scheduling your Virginia real estate licensing exam, taking the Virginia real estate licensing exam, getting fingerprinted, how to apply for a Virginia real estate license, Virginia real estate license renewal, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 60-Hour Virginia Real Estate License Course

Does my VA state exam registration expire?

​Your $60 examination fee is valid for one attempt and up to one year. If you do not take the Virginia state licensing exam within one year of registration, you must reschedule your exam and pay another $60 exam fee.

How do I receive my VA Course Certificate of Completion?

As soon as you pass the final exam for the 60-hour Virginia real estate salespersons course, your Certificate of Completion will be available to download within your RealEstateU account.

How many questions are on the VA pre-license course final exam?

The 60-hour Virginia pre-license course final exam consists of at least 100 multiple-choice questions.

Is the VA pre-license course final exam proctored?

Yes, the Real Estate Board requires that the 60-hour pre-license course final exam be proctored. You may take the proctored final exam at your real estate school or at an approved proctoring location, such as a local library or testing facility.

How many times can I take the VA pre-license course final exam?

You can take the 60-hour Virginia pre-license course final exam as many times as needed until you pass.​

Can I use my college credits towards the VA pre-license course?

No, the Real Estate Board does not allow college credits to be used toward the 60-hour Virginia pre-license course. You must take the full 60-hour pre-license course in its​ entirety.

Can I use my law degree credits towards the VA pre-license course?

No, the Real Estate Board does not allow you to use credits from your law degree toward the 60-hour Virginia pre-license course. You must take a Board-approved pre-license course that is taught by an approved real estate instructor.

Can I take the VA pre-license course if I'm still in high school?

Yes, you are allowed to take (and complete) the 60-hour Virginia real estate salespersons course while you are still in high school. The Real Estate Board only requires that you be at least 18 years old and hold a high school diploma (or its equivalent) when it comes time to apply for your real estate license.

Can I take the 60-hour VA real estate license course online?

Yes, you can certainly take the 60-hour Virginia real estate salespersons course online. In fact, most students prefer to take the course online. The online course format will allow you to complete the course more quickly and it is typically offered at a better price.

How can I take the 60-hour VA real estate license course?

You can take the 60-hour Virginia pre-license course online or in a classroom. Most students prefer to take the course online since the online format allows them to take the course at their own pace. If you take the course in a classroom, you must do so according to the school's preset schedule.

How many hours of education is required to get a VA license?

You must complete the Virginia 60-hour pre-license course in order to be eligible to sit for the state exam and ultimately apply for your VA real estate salespersons license.​

What course am I required to take to get a VA real estate license?

​The Virginia Real Estate Board requires all real estate salesperson applicants to complete 60-hours of pre-license education by an approved education provider. The 60-hour VA pre-license course must be approved by the Board and be taught by an approved real estate instructor.

Applying For a Virginia Real Estate License

How do I change from an inactive to active VA license?

​If you hold an inactive VA real estate salesperson's license, you must submit a Salesperson Activate/Transfer Application by mail or online in order to activate your license. You must complete sections 8 & 9 with your sponsoring broker's information. Your sponsoring broker will have to complete section 14.

How do I receive an active VA real estate license?

If you have a sponsoring broker when it comes time to submit your Virginia Salesperson License Application,​ the Real Estate Board will issue you an active real estate license. You must complete sections 12 & 13 of the application, and have your sponsoring broker complete section 18.

How do I receive an inactive VA real estate license?

​If you do not have a sponsoring broker when you submit your Virginia Salesperson License Application, the Board will issue you an inactive real estate license. Since you do not have a sponsoring broker, you do not have to complete sections 12, 13, & 18 on the application.

What is the difference between an active and inactive VA license?

If you hold an active Virginia real estate salesperson's license, you can practice/work as a real estate agent. If you hold an inactive license, you cannot perform any duties that require a real estate license.

Can I get a VA real estate license if I don't work for broker?

Yes, if you do not have a sponsoring broker when it comes time to submit your Virginia Salesperson License Application, the Board will issue you an inactive real estate license. Please note, you cannot practice as a real estate salesperson with an inactive real estate license​.

When should I file my license application with the Board?

You should only file your VA license application after you have passed the state licensing exam and your fingerprints have been received by the Board (fingerprints cannot be older than 45 days).​ You must submit your license application within one year of the initial exam date when you originally took the state exam.

How much is the VA real estate license application?

There is a $170 fee for the Virginia Salesperson License Application. You can pay the fee using a credit card, check, or money order. Checks and money orders must be made payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA.​

How do I apply for my VA real estate salespersons license?

​You must apply for your Virginia real estate salespersons license by mailing a completed Salesperson License Application to the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. You must include all required supporting documentation and pay the $170 license application fee.

What are the requirements to apply for a VA real estate license?

Before you can apply for your VA license, you must complete the following requirements: 1) Complete the 60-hour VA pre-license course, or receive an education waiver from the Board. 2) Pass the Virginia state licensing exam. 3) Submit a set of fingerprints to conduct a criminal record check (background check).​

Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

When should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Board?

You must disclose any prior criminal activity on your Virginia Salesperson License Application. This means you cannot have the Real Estate Board review your case until you have completed the pre-license education requirements, passed the state exam, and submitted your fingerprints.

How should I disclose any prior criminal activity to the Board?

​You must disclose any prior criminal activity in section 15 of the Virginia Salesperson License Application.

What does the VA Board consider a conviction?

The Board considers a conviction as: Any misdemeanor and felony convictions (including moving traffic violations), and all military and foreign convictions. A guilty verdict by judge or jury, a plea of guilty, or a plea of nolo contendere. Convictions as a minor if tried as an adult.

Can I get my VA license if I have a prior conviction?

​Yes, you still may obtain a real estate license if you have a prior conviction; however, the Real Estate Board has the right to deny your application if they find that "the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage" in the real estate profession.

Getting Fingerprinted

How much does it cost to get my fingerprints taken in VA?

​There is a standard $52 fingerprinting fee that may be payable by money order, cashier's check, VISA or MasterCard. The payment includes the State processing fee of $27 and the PSI processing fee of $25.

How long does it take for the Board to receive my fingerprints?

​It may take up to 4 to 6 weeks to process your fingerprints and have your criminal record check sent to the Virginia Real Estate Board.

How do I get my fingerprints taken if I'm not a VA resident?

​Even if you do not live in Virginia, you are still encouraged to get your fingerprints taken as a Virginia PSI testing location. You must contact the Virginia Real Estate Board if you cannot be fingerprinted at a Virginia site.

When do I have to get my VA fingerprints taken?

Your fingerprints cannot be older than 45 days from the day the Real Estate Board receives your criminal history record to the day the Board receives your license application. For this reason, we recommend waiting to get your fingerprints taken until right after you fully pass the Virginia state licensing exam.

What does the Board do with my fingerprints?

​Your fingerprints will be electronically transmitted to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange where a state and national criminal history record will be conducted. The Board will use your criminal history record to verify that you have fully disclosed all past criminal activity on your license application.

How do I get my fingerprints taken in Virginia?

You will be electronically fingerprinted at the PSI testing center after you pass the Virginia state licensing exam. Even if you live outside of Virginia, you are still highly encouraged to get your fingerprints taken at a Virginia PSI testing location, as this will speed up the mandatory background check process.

Why do I have to get my fingerprints taken in VA?

​The Real Estate Board requires all applicants to submit a set of fingerprints to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange for the purpose of conducting a state and national fingerprint-based criminal history check.

How to Get a Virginia Real Estate License

How do I get my VA license if I'm not a VA resident?

Even if you are not a Virginia resident, you still have to go through the same process as a Virginia resident to get your VA real estate license. It is important to note that you must take the VA state licensing exam at a PSI testing center located within the Commonwealth of Virginia.​

How can I get my VA license if I'm licensed in another state?

If you are licensed (or have been licensed) in another state, you may apply for your VA license through the same process as if you were obtaining your VA license through reciprocity. However, if your license is currently expired, you must take both the national and state portions of the Virginia state licensing exam.

How can I get my VA license through reciprocity?

You must do the following to obtain your VA license through reciprocity: 1) Pass the state portion of the VA licensing exam. 2) Get fingerprinted. 3) Submit a VA License Application with the following documents: Certification of Completion of a real estate license course, Letter of Good Standing, and payment of $170.

Does Virginia offer reciprocity with other states?

Virginia is one of the few states in the country that offers full reciprocity with all other states, provided you meet the conditions set forth in section 18 VAC 135-20-60 of the Virginia Real Estate Regulations.

What tests do I need to take to get my VA real estate license?

​There are two tests you need to pass in order to apply for your VA real estate salespersons license. First, you must pass the school's proctored final exam, which you will take at the end of the 60-hour pre-license course. After you pass the school's proctored final exam, you can then sit for the state licensing exam.

How long does it take to get my VA real estate license?

Here is an estimated time-frame it may take to get your VA real estate salespersons license: 1) Complete the 60-hour VA pre-license course: 2 weeks. 2) Schedule and pass the state exam: 2 weeks. 3) Get fingerprinted: 4 - 6 weeks. 4) Submit your license application for approvals: 2 weeks. Total Time-frame: 10-12 weeks

How much does it cost to get my VA real estate license?

Here is a breakdown of all the costs associated with obtaining your Virginia real estate salespersons license: 1) 60-hour Virginia pre-license course: $99. 2) Proctoring fee: Free - $35 per attempt. 3) State exam fee: $60 per attempt. 4) Fingerprint fee: $52. 5) License application fee: $170. Total Cost: $416

How do I get my Virginia real estate salespersons license?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your Virginia real estate salespersons license: 1) Complete 60-hour pre-license course 2) Schedule and pass the state exam 3) Get fingerprinted 4) Apply for your Virginia real estate license.

Real Estate Profession Questions

When is a real estate license required in Virginia?

If you want to represent a homeowner or landlord to sell or lease their property, or if you want to represent a buyer or tenant looking to buy or lease a property, and earn a commission in the process, you are required to obtain at least a Virginia real estate salesperson's license.

What can I do with my Virginia real estate license?

If you hold an active Virginia real estate salesperson's license, under the supervision of your sponsoring broker, you can buy, sell, or lease any real estate within the Commonwealth of Virginia and earn a commission in the process. This includes residential, commercial, and even industrial properties.

RealEstateU Questions

Is the RealEstateU Virginia pre-license course state approved?

Yes, the RealEstateU online 60-hour Virginia real estate salespersons course is fully approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board. Approval #0214022850 RealEstateU is also an approved Real Estate Proprietary School by the Virginia Real Estate Board. Certification #0211001225​

Scheduling Your Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam

How do I change or cancel my VA state exam date?

​You can change or cancel your state exam date through the PSI website or by phone at (800)733-9267. If your change or cancellation request is received at least two days before your scheduled exam date you will not have to forfeit your exam payment.

Do I need to take the state exam if I’m licensed in another state?

Yes, even if you are applying for your VA real estate license via reciprocity, you are still required to pass the state portion of the VA state licensing exam. If you are an out-of-state licensee and your license is currently expired, you must pass both the state and national portions of the VA state licensing exam.

Will my school notify the Board that I have completed my courses?

Yes, your school is required to submit your information to PSI within 5 business days of passing the school's final exam. The Virginia Real Estate Board uses this information as evidence that you have completed the 60-hour pre-license course requirement.

How does the Board know that I have completed the pre-license course?

Your school will send your information to the PSI testing center within 5 business days of you passing the final exam for the 60-hour pre-license course. The Real Estate Board uses this submission as evidence that you have completed their education requirement.

Where can I take the VA real estate licensing exam?

​You must take the Virginia state licensing exam at one of the approved PSI testing centers. There are seven PSI testing centers throughout Virginia. Please see pages 9&10 of the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for more information.

How long does it take to register and schedule my VA state exam?

If you register online or via phone, you can register for and schedule your state exam the same day. If you register via mail, PSI will need up to 2 weeks to process your registration form. If you register via fax, PSI will need up to 4 days to process your registration form.

How do I pay for the VA state licensing exam?

​You must pay the $60 Virginia state exam fee directly to PSI, via credit card, money order, company check, or cashier's check. Cash and a personal check will not be accepted by PSI.

How much does the VA real estate exam cost?

The Virginia state licensing exam costs $60 per attempt, regardless if you are only taking the national portion, the state portion, or both portions.​

How do I schedule my VA real estate licensing exam?

The fastest way to schedule your VA state exam is online through the PSI website. You also have the option to schedule via mail, fax, or telephone. If you are applying for the state exam via reciprocity, you must mail or fax the Examination Registration Form to PSI before you can schedule your exam.

Taking the Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam

Do my VA state licensing exam results expire?

Yes, ​you must submit a completed Virginia Salesperson License Application within one year from your initial exam date when you originally took the exam. If you fail to submit a license application within one year, you must retake and pass the state exam.

Can I take my VA state exam if I don't have a sponsoring broker?

Yes, you do not need a sponsoring broker to take the Virginia state licensing exam. You only need a sponsoring broker when it comes time to apply for an active Virginia real estate salesperson's license.​

How do I retake the VA state exam if I previously failed?

If you do not pass the VA state exam, you must schedule a new exam attempt through PSI. The quickest way to reschedule your exam is online through the PSI website, or by phone. You cannot schedule a new exam attempt on the same day you tested unsuccessfully. You must wait until at least the following day.

What are the exam policies at the VA PSI testing center?

Please have a look at pages 10 & 11 of the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for a detailed description of the PSI exam policies.

Are there any testing accommodations available for the VA state exam?

​Yes, all PSI examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the ADA. Applicants with disabilities that need a testing accommodation must submit an exam accommodation request.

What am I required to bring with me to the VA state exam?

​You must bring two forms of valid (not expired) identification to the PSI testing center. One ID must be a valid government-issued ID, such as a driver's license, state ID, passport, or military ID, which includes your signature and photograph. The second ID must include your signature and preprinted legal name.

Do I need to bring a calculator for the VA state exam?

​It is recommended that you bring a calculator to the Virginia state licensing exam; however, only non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, do not have a paper tape printing capabilities, and do not have a keyboard are allowed in the exam room.

I just passed my VA real estate exam, now what?

​Once you pass the Virginia state licensing exam, you can then get fingerprinted and submit your Salesperson License Application. You must get fingerprinted at the PSI testing center. You can mail or fax your Salesperson License Application to the Board, with the help of your sponsoring broker.

How long does it take to get my VA state exam results?

If you took the VA exam by computer, you will receive your exam score immediately following completion of the exam.​ If you took a paper-and-pencil exam, your results will be mailed to you from PSI. Your exam results will also be reported to the Board, which they will use to verify that you have passed the state exam.​

How many times can I take the VA state exam?

​You can take the Virginia state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to schedule a new exam attempt through PSI and pay the $60 exam fee for each attempt.

What is included on the VA state licensing exam?

Please have a look at pages 4-6 of the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for a detailed outline of the topics tested on both the national and state portions of the Virginia state licensing exam.

How many questions are on the VA state licensing exam?

​There are 80 questions on the national portion of the Virginia state licensing exam, and 40 questions on the state portion (120 questions in total). You must answer at least 56 questions correctly on the national portion to pass, and at least 30 questions correctly on the state portion.

How much does it cost to retake the VA state exam?

It costs $60 to retake the Virginia state licensing exam. The exam fee must be paid directly to PSI.​

Virginia License Qualifications / Requirements

What past criminal activity do I not have to disclose to the Board?

​You do not have to disclose any violations adjudicated as a minor in the juvenile court system, a convictions pardoned, set aside, reversed, expunged, pending disposition, adjudication withheld, deferred judgment or otherwise rendered inoperative.

What past criminal activity must I disclose to the Board?

​You must disclose any prior felony convictions, including any plea of nolo contendere to a felony charge. You must also disclose any misdemeanor convictions (including any plea of nolo contendere) involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within the past five years.

Can I get my VA real estate license if I'm not a VA resident?

​Yes, you are not required to be a Virginia resident in order to obtain your Virginia real estate license. However, as a Virginia real estate salesperson, you must work under a licensed Virginia real estate broker.

Do I need a high school diploma to get my VA real estate license?

Yes, according to section 18 VAC 135-20-30 of the Virginia Real Estate Regulations, you must have a high school diploma, or its equivalent, in order to apply for a Virginia real estate salesperson's license.

How old do I have to be to get a VA real estate license?

​According to section 18 VAC 135-20-30 of the Virginia Real Estate Regulations, you must be at least 18 years old to apply for a Virginia real estate salesperson's license.

Virginia Real Estate License Renewal

How do I reinstate an expired VA real estate license?

To reinstate an expired real estate license, you must submit a Salesperson Activate / Transfer Application, either online or by mail and pay the required fee. Please note, you must have completed the required continuing education credits before you can submit to reinstate your license.​

What happens if I do not renew my VA license on time?

​If you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, your license will be considered expired and you will not be able to practice real estate until your license is reinstated. If you do not reinstate your license within 1 year after your license expiration date, you will have to apply for a new license.

Will the Board waive my CE requirements?

​The Board may grant exemptions or waive or reduce the number of continuing education hours required in cases of certified illness or undue hardship as demonstrated to the Board. In addition, military personnel called to active duty may complete the required CE within six months of their release from active duty.

Can CE credits carry over to the next renewal period?

​Yes, any continuing education credits completed in excess of the required 16-hours of CE in the current license term, that were obtained within six months of your license expiration date, may be carried over to the next two-year renewal period.

How soon can I renew my VA real estate license?

You can renew your Virginia real estate license within 60 days of your license expiration date.

How do I renew an inactive VA real estate license?

If you hold an inactive Virginia real estate salesperson's license, you are not required to complete the 16-hours of continuing education. You simply need to submit your renewal application online (or mail in your completed Renewal Card) and pay the renewal fee.

What are the CE requirements for active licensees?

All licensees who hold an active Virginia real estate salesperson's license, and are renewing their license for at least the second time, must complete 16-hours of continuing education for each renewal period.

What are the CE requirements for inactive licensees?

​If you hold an inactive VA real estate salesperson's license, you do not have to complete the 16-hour continuing education requirement for each renewal period. However, if you are a first-time VA licensee, you are still required to complete the 30-hours of post-license education within your first year of licensure.

What are the CE requirements for first-time renewals in VA?

​All first-time Virginia real estate salespersons must complete 30-hours of post-license education (PLE) within one year from the last day of the month in which their license was issued. For example, if your license was issued on March 15, 2020, you must complete your 30-hours of PLE by March 31, 2021.

How often do I have to renew my VA real estate license?

​You must renew our VA real estate license within two years from the last day of the month in which your license was issued. For example, if your license was issued on January 10, 2020, you must renew by January 31, 2022. If you fail to renew your license by its renewal date, your license will be considered expired.

How much does it cost to renew my VA real estate license?

​There is a $65 renewal fee to renew your Virginia real estate salesperson's license. If you renew your license online, you can pay using a credit card. If you opt to mail in a Renewal Card you should include a Credit Card Payment Form. Please note, all renewal fees are non-refundable.

How do I renew my Virginia real estate license?

​You can renew your Virginia real estate license online or by mailing your Renewal Card (along with your renewal fee) to the Real Estate Board. We recommend renewing your license online through the DPOR website as this is the quickest way to renew your license.

Can't find your answer?

Get in touch
Categories > Virginia
  • About the 60-Hour Virginia Real Estate License Course
  • Applying For a Virginia Real Estate License
  • Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity
  • Getting Fingerprinted
  • How to Get a Virginia Real Estate License
  • Real Estate Profession Questions
  • RealEstateU Questions
  • Scheduling Your Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Taking the Virginia Real Estate Licensing Exam
  • Virginia License Qualifications / Requirements
  • Virginia Real Estate License Renewal

A Simple and Affordable Way
To Get Your
  • New York
  • California
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania
  • Michigan
  • Virginia
  • Georgia
  • New York

Real Estate License

Change careers or earn extra income on the side

REAL ESTATE LICENSES FROM

$395$99

CHOOSE YOUR STATE